Skip to content

It Is Best When They Ask

July 2, 2013

Greetings,

“The jailer called for lights, rushed in and fell trembling before Paul and Silas.  He then brought them out and asked, “Sirs, what must I do to be saved?”  Acts 16: 29-30

Today I am back in Chattanooga again enjoying the hospitality of Marc and Marty.  I definitely feel totally at home here.  These folks are absolutely my Spiritual family in every way.  Our connection goes way deep.

Yesterday I was in Savannah Georgia to see my Aunt Janice and Uncle John.  I haven’t seen them in over 12 years and it was great to be able to catch up and share family photos and stories.  Before I arrived there they both took the care and time to locate and print up for me old photos of my Mom and me as a child.

I had been praying that God would give me the opportunity to share Christ with them and it was not long until each of them, separately in different conversations, asked me to explain what type of ministry I was doing.  I told them I was just trying to be faithful to Jesus and that this had led me to totally free and open, relational fellowship.  Uncle John asked me if I was still a preacher and I was able to tell him I never really was one in the traditional sense.  I then explained how, in the fellowships I relate to, we have open and mutual conversations where everyone shared as the Spirit led them.  He loved that idea and said he never had liked being preached at.  I told Him that I never preach AT people and neither did Jesus.  He seemed to understand and I felt that he agreed with all I had shared.  Small, simple seeds for sure, but it was the most open discussion I have ever had with them about the Lord and His ways.  Somehow in that moment I felt Jesus smiling at me.

I have discovered over the years that the best and most effective way to share Christ is to pray and wait patiently for folks to ASK you about Jesus and the Body of Christ.  Being forward and forcefully telling them about the Lord or preaching at them NEVER works.  First you build relationship with those you want to reach with the Gospel and then over time they will witness your life and eventually ASK why you do what you do.  Any sort of forcing the truth in love on people never bears much fruit.

  I love my Aunt and Uncle so very, very much.  Uncle John was like the only positive male role model I ever had in my life.  He loves his wife and children, and has worked hard to support them his whole life.  Aunt Janice has always loved and supported me and is the closest thing to my Mother that I have in my life now.

Tomorrow morning I head home to Sturgis.  This last week has been a totally awesome road trip.  I have met, face to face for the very first time, some outstanding people who just ooze forth the love and acceptance of Christ.  In addition I have renewed relationship with a most dear friend from my youth and had a remarkable time of sharing love with my relatives.  All of this done without an agenda and only as the Spirit led.  All our fellowship has been very sweet.  I am really looking forward to my next trip when I will be flying out the Washington State to fellowship with more dear ones the end of July.

Love and …….

Kirk Out !

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Chris, It was good to have you here with us, thank you for coming. The spiritual kingdom of God is not limited by time and distance, only by the human constraints of religious people who have their own agenda. Thank you modeling free and open fellowship.

  2. "BK" permalink

    I am so thrilled for your entire trip! And that God included ‘natural family’, while knitting you with your spiritual one touched me alot. Looking forward to that Washington trip!…..bein’ as that includes us!! Love you, brother, “BK”

  3. Reformed by the Spirit permalink

    You are welcome back any time brother!!!

Leave a Reply

