Skip to content

Through The Wringer

May 11, 2013

Greetings,

“Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.  Share with God’s people who are in need.  Practice hospitality.  Bless those who persecute you; bless and do not curse.  Rejoice with those who rejoice; mourn with those who mourn.  Live in harmony with one another.  Do not be proud, but be willing to associate with people of low position.  Do not be conceited.”  Romans 12: 12-16

One of the best things about being part of a fully functioning Body is that you never have to go through any of life’s challenges by yourself.  I thank God every day for the great people He has placed in my life.  People with who I have had deep and rewarding fellowship.  Dear sisters and brothers who did not bail on me during the last 14 years of PTSD hell.  Our bonds have been severely tested at times, but whenever the dust cleared we were right there for each other time and time again.

Because of Christ in them I was given hope and with their support I have been able to be patient in my affliction.  Regardless of our circumstances we have managed to remain faithful in prayer for each other  We have been able to share with each other from both our heights and our depths.  We have practiced and lived hospitality.  With open hearts and open homes we have shared everything.

The passage I quoted above tells us to live in harmony with one another.  My friends..harmony cannot be achieved alone.  It takes multiple voices.  In all respects our faith is a team activity.  We simply need each other in the Body of Christ.  Everyone has an important portion to share and when each one of us adds to the mix our share… it is then we are made complete, whole and mature.

We are more than just friends and siblings. We are peers.  We are each part of one another and together we thrive under Jesus The Head.  When we allow ourselves to be assembled under Christ miracles happen.  After what happened to me on Thursday I can indeed say I am a walking miracle.  Many of my peers sowed in tears and prayer for over a decade, desiring that I be totally set free from the emotional bondage of my childhood.  Today, I can say with all confidence that I am well on my way to that total freedom.  

Those I am in fellowship with have rejected any and all positions and instead we have chosen to contend as one man for the faith.  Where that kind of unity lives Jesus is able to fully manifest in us the gifts of the Spirit.  Because we have been accepted we can now be accepting of all others regardless of their current station in life or related problems.  In short we have been through the wringer together and we have not been found lacking in love or compassion.  How many traditional “churches” can say the same?  Simple, organic, relational, Spirit led fellowship works.  “A tree is known by its fruit.”

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

 

 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Thanks, Kirk, for the good grace filled report. I believe you are in the home stretch, my brother. Remember, “No weapon that is fashioned against you shall prosper, and you shall confute every tongue that rises against you in judgment. This is the heritage of the servants of the LORD and their vindication from me, says the LORD.” (Isa 54:17 RSVA)

  2. "BK" permalink

    Being one who so loves good harmony in music, I have to underscore…..if there is only one voice, there is NO harmony, it takes multiple voices. But oh the beauty and strength of blended voices!
    Amen to your point and your experience. It matches mine. True, faithful community brings long lasting deliverance and healing. Being open to Him and each other brings us closer and closer to completeness, being one. And Jesus tells us when that happens, THEN the world will believe. It’s a slow process but oh so worth it. Rejoicing with you, Chris, “BK”

Leave a Reply

