Skip to content

Questions And Answers

May 3, 2013

Sorry again gals & guys, but I have been so busy living life that I haven’t gotten the chance to blog.  However, here is an offering from 2011 that addresses some folks concerns about my view of the bible.  Besides we have a bunch of new viewers.  If Jim W is still lurking out there he should really read this.

**********************************************************************************************************

Greetings,

The following is a comment from my BLOG “More Regulations By The Book”  In it Dan G asks some valid questions which I will try to address in this post.

Dan G wrote:

“Chris – perhaps you can tell us of your experiences with Bible and what causes you to bring this issue front/center as often as you do? I am not able to relate to what you speak, because I value the Bible, but I read that you value the Bible also. Somewhere, there is a disconnect in my understanding of your writings. Maybe if you explain specific experiences a bit, if you can, we can begin to relate / commune with you on this.”

Alright Dan I will give this a shot.  The issue to me is why do we elevate the Bible to place that is equal or higher than The Holy Spirit in our lives.  To me it is quite clear that we receive primary revelation from The Spirit and secondary revelation from the Bible.  After all it was The Spirit who inspired the writers of the Bible to write what they did in the first place.  It seems to me that many Christians get it backwards in practice where they use the Bible to try and interpret and set the ground rules for The Spirit, when they should be using The Holy Spirit to interpret the Bible and lead them in their everyday lives.  Because there are some things in life that the Bible doesn’t address or give guidance about.

Way back when I was in college I was also a concert promoter.  After a big concert (REZ Band) I drove the artists back to their motel.  On the way back home I had to stop by the late night drive thru at Burger King to get some food for me and 5 other students who had helped me set up and tear down the sound and lights equipment for the concert.  So I was going to order 6 whopper meals when I heard Jesus or The Spirit tell me to order 7 meals.  It felt right and harmless so I ordered 7 meals.  When I got the food back to my roadies dorm room I distributed the meals to the 6 of us and I left the 7th meal in a bag up on a loft.  In the midst of eating and fellowshipping Tim stuck his head in the door and asked where his whopper meal was.  I immediately pointed to the sack on the loft and told him his whopper meal was right up there.  I also told him that God had specifically told me to buy that meal for him.  About a half an hour later we were able to lead Tim to Jesus all because I was told to buy that extra meal.  I am still in contact with Tim to this day.  He remains strong in The Lord and often gives his testimony about how God used an extra whopper meal to save him.

The Bible had no way of communicating to me the need for an extra meal, but The Spirit was fully capable of leading me in such a manner.  It is just like in Acts chapter 9 where The Lord tells Ananias to go to a street called straight and find Saul and heal his vision.  Ananias could have read scripture from cover to cover and still not be moved to act in such a manner.  It takes more than Biblical knowledge to be guided in the best ways of surrendering to and serving HIM.

The fact is that the Bible is just not enough to lead us in our Christian walk.  Jesus Himself said that He was sending us The Holy Spirit to guide us into all truth.  The Bible was never meant to be our guide.  That is The Spirit’s role.  Always has been and always will be.  Jesus also said that “His sheep hear His voice and obey”.  Note He NEVER said that we read His book and obey.

We NEED to hear from HIM my friends!  The Spirit is our guide and often times He leads us to the Bible for reference and understanding.  But it is HE who sits on the throne and not a book about Him.  Who sits on the throne of your heart?  If we are really honest about this most of the time it is  WE that sit there, even as Christians.  But we need to surrender that place DAILY to Him and The Spirit.  The book should never be in the position of preeminence in our lives.  The Bible is a great gift and tool when used as led by The Spirit, but without The Spirit’s illumination it is just plain old ink on paper.

Love and……

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. The Scriptures are a gift in their proper prospective. The earliest believers who were turning the world upside down in the first century did not have any written text to rely upon. They only had the promise of Isaiah, God writes His Words on our hearts and minds.

    Hebrews 8:9-11

    New English Translation (NET)

    9 “It will not be like the covenant that I made with their fathers, on the day when I took them by the hand to lead them out of Egypt, because they did not continue in my covenant and I had no regard for them, says the Lord.
    10 “For this is the covenant that I will establish with the house of Israel after those days, says the Lord. I will put my laws in their minds and I will inscribe them on their hearts. And I will be their God and they will be my people.
    11 “And there will be no need at all for each one to teach his countryman or each one to teach his brother saying, ‘Know the Lord,’ since they will all know me, from the least to the greatest.

    This “knowing God” by His Spirit, is the New Covenant design. The great error of churchianity, is to systematize faith in Christ. In order to accomplish this, written rules and guidelines are essential.

  2. Reformed by the Spirit permalink

    What is obvious here is that no one is trying to toss out the Word of God as I often read the Bible being quoted….What I do see is the idea that the Holy Spirit will guide us and teach us through the Word so we can understand how it applies in a much better way.

Leave a Reply

