Skip to content

What God Hates

April 29, 2013

Greetings,

God said:

“I can’t stand your religious meetings. I’m fed up with your conferences and conventions. I want nothing to do with your religion projects, your pretentious slogans and goals. I’m sick of your fund-raising schemes, your public relations and image making. I have had all I can take of your noisy ego-music. When was the last time you sang to me?
Do you know what I want? I want justice—oceans of it. I want fairness—rivers of it. That’s what I want. That’s all I want.”
– Amos 5: 21-24 (MSG)

Further proof that true Worship is NOT a prayer, 3 songs, an offering and a sermon.  It is rather a life laid down!  The focus should be on Him and not us.  Too many “church” services are about how good the SHOW is.  Looking right and sounding right is not the same a being RIGHT with Him.

 How we treat people, especially those who are in desperate need for justice and fairness is extremely important.  We should be instruments of His love, peace and justice at all times.  When we are all caught up in ourselves this rarely happens.  Some introspection is healthy, but too much is more than a problem.  We are to look out not only for our own interests, but also for the interests of others.  Wake up and look around, there are many people in need of His love, peace and justice within your reach.  What about the widow and the orphan?  What about your neighbors?  You don’t have to look far to find someone in need of help and mercy.

Most people are far too busy with GOING to “church” and “church” sponsored events.  Too busy in fact to actually BE the Church for those who need Him most.  To quote the late great Keith Green, “Going to church doesn’t make you a Christian any more than going to McDonald’s makes you a hamburger.”  How can we spend hours every week being entertained at the “church” building or at “church” events…while people around us are literally dying, hurting and suffering?  It is time to break free from dead religion and “the Show” so that we can reach out and do actual ministry for the poor and needy.

It does not matter how you meet or gather.  I have seen house churches just as self absorbed as those at a “church” building.  We all have to ask ourselves…What really is the motivation of my heart?  Is it to serve or to be served and entertained?  Jesus came to serve and we should follow His example daily.  I am tired of all the activities and shows that the “church” provides.  I want to be more like Jesus and less like me.  Today I will seek to meet the needs of others over and above myself.  I will still gather with those who Love Him in simplicity, but our gatherings will be about His will and not ours.  Time to break free of “The Show”!

“I hate, I despise your religious feasts; I cannot stand your assemblies.”  Amos 5: 21 (NIV)

Love and…….

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. Jeanne S. permalink

    Good stuff Chris….if I didn’t know better, I’d swear you’ve been reading my Facebook postings lately. 😉

  2. Jeanne, that is what’s amazing.. right after I wrote this blog I saw where 2 different people had used this same passage of scripture on facebook. It was total confirmation. God is good!

  3. Great post! May I repost on my blog?

  4. Jim, Welcome my brother! Please feel free to re-post anything I write.

  5. "BK" permalink

    Speaking of things God is on record that He hates, I’d like to include Revelation 2:[14] But I have a few things against thee, because thou hast there them that hold the doctrine of Balaam, who taught Balac to cast a stumblingblock before the children of Israel, to eat things sacrificed unto idols, and to commit fornication.
    [15] So hast thou also them that hold the doctrine of the Nicolaitans, which thing I hate.
    It goes along with the things you posted from the Message, just ‘New Testament’ scriptures. I ate alot of things ‘sacrificed to the idol’ of my doctrinal beliefs & traditions before I came out of Babylon. And when I hold anyone between myself and Jesus, allow them to be in His place, I commit fornication. I remember the time I was thinking about ‘being under my pastor’ when the Lord shocked me by saying, “What are you doing under him? Don’t you realize that’s fornication?” Shocking, but true. And the doctrine of the Nicolaitans, Nico: Clergy over the laity. Indeed, He is on record that He hates what most Christiandom accept as status quo. Just some morning thoughts, “BK”

  6. bill permalink

    hello branches,
    I’ve been involved with a couple of brothers who I thought *had seen the light*, but retreated back into institutional Christianity. They are both Baptists now….what the heck….this computer program captitalizes the *c* in christianity and the *b* in baptist, when that was not my intent.

    Things are coming to a head. One of these brother’s is being stirred mightily. He even told me that he thinks he’s gotta deliver a hard word to the congregation and pastor. Wow this computer program didn’t try to capitalize pastor…haha. He said he’s ready to be thrown out of the church.

    This brother has repeated several times, “let God be true, and every man be a liar.”

    The Lord is working in the captives!!!

  7. bill permalink

    hello again saints,

    BK, that’s crazy how the Lord confronted you with being *under* your pastor, and how it was fornication. I’m gonna share something similar that happened with me. In fact I sense I’m to give y’all a brief synopsis of part of my life with the Lord and His body.

    I began life in Christ in ’93 as part of a small home-fellowship in Wichita, Ks. GO SHOCKERS!!! We gathered weekly and very informally for a few months until we got swallowed up by a local *ministry.* (Won’t go into the details of how that happened.)

    The head-guy (we’ll call him Bob), who has a measure of the gift of Christ no doubt, but at times(haven’t we all) operates above that measure, calls upon another brother(let’s call him Ralph) in Calif. to come to Wichita to join in the *ministry.* Bob and Ralph had ministered together on an off over the previous 20yrs or so.

    Things quickly began to change after Ralph came to Wichita. Ralph had read a lot of Gene Edwards books and listened to a lot of his audio tapes, so his *teaching* had that slant to it. From the get-go I remember Ralph making the point how so many times the pastor of a congregation becomes the mediator between God and the people. Ralph spoke much about body life and all the members functioning.

    Well Ralph’s message made a big impact on several of the saints(me included) and next thing you know those impacted saints were gathering at Ralph’s house several times through the week. Eventually there was a split with some saints going with Bob, and the others going with Ralph.

    The interesting thing was Ralph became the mediator between God and several of the saints that went with him. And when someone would share something, Ralph almost every time would give us the *fuller* revelation when they were done. This pretty much shut the body down.

    Well it quickly got down to just three members and Ralph. One day Ralph calls one of the members(let’s call him HR Puffinstuff) and asks him to bring me over to his house because he had something important to tell us. So HR comes by and picks me up and we go over to Ralph’s where he tells us that he’s pulling out of the fellowship. This was probably around ’97 or ’98.

    A couple of years ago I was sharing this with another brother via facebook message, and right after typing about Ralph *pulling out* the Lord showed me in the Spirit graphically what was going on. I almost vomited.

    It goes to show that not all ministers are friends of the Bridegroom.

  8. "BK" permalink

    Yes, that was the feeling I had too…..sick. The sentence ” Ralph almost every time would give us the *fuller* revelation when they were done. This pretty much shut the body down.” also reminds me of a personal experience. A bunch of kids from the streets were meeting at my house and I was always wanting to ‘build’ on things they said! One day they asked me, “BK, how come nothing we say is ever good enough? You always have to have something to say that’s ‘better’….” Wow, set me back on my heels and I am glad to have been able to receive that as instruction from the Lord that my ‘wonderful insight” is not always needed! “BK”

Leave a Reply

