Skip to content

100% Real

April 1, 2013

Greetings,

Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.  Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another.  Forgive as the Lord forgave you. And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.”  Colossians 3: 12-14

It is always good to remember passages such as this that remind us to forgive each other in the same way that the Lord forgave us.  Relationships are difficult even in the best of circumstances, but they are even much more difficult where we allow unforgiveness a place in our hearts.  How we treat one another really matters.  Compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience are things we need to practice everyday in our lives.  Instead of jumping in, judging and attacking someone when we have a difference of opinion, we need to bear with each other and walk in forgiveness and love.

I am so grateful to have friends in the faith who have chosen to walk alongside me and help me to grow beyond my shortcomings.  They never attacked me or wrote me off when I stumbled.  Instead they offered me a hand up and embraced me in spite of whatever sins I was struggling with in my life.  They didn’t look the other way, but they held me accountable with love and forgiveness being their main motivation.  To them right relationship was more important than right doctrine.  We eventually got around to that important issue, but only when our relationship was deep and secure enough to tackle it in the right Spirit.

The next few days I will be in Chicago visiting some of these dear friends that loved me enough to speak into my life when I most needed it.  Lydia and I will be staying at Jesus People USA for two nights.  I know the fellowship will be sweet and the care and concern real as we converse concerning this life in Christ we share.  I do not know how much access I will have to the net while there, but it might be a few days until I blog again.

 Right now I want to take a moment to thank everyone that reads and supports this blog.  March was a record setting month and last week had our most traffic ever.  I know some of you out there disapprove of what I write and say that I am wrong for saying that the bible is not equal to or greater than God Himself.  If that is you I suggest that you continue to pray about it.  I know I pray about it every day.  I only share the things that God has placed on my heart.  I do not claim to be 100% right, but I do promise to be 100% real all of the time.

Love and ….

Kirk Out !

 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Grace be with you as you travel. Keep seeking all you can in Christ, there is no limit.

  2. "BK" permalink

    I believe it is in Ephesians it says “endeavoring to keep the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace” so, indeed, sometimes it takes effort to maintain unity through doctrinal differences. But it is worth every ounce of effort, and like you, Chris, I am thankful for all who come alongside to walk with me through my ups and downs, highs and lows, truth and error. I echo Marc ” Grace be with you as you travel. Keep seeking all you can in Christ, there is no limit.” Amen. Love in Jesus, “BK”

Leave a Reply

