Skip to content

On Struggles And Trials

January 31, 2013

Greetings,

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ!  In His great mercy He has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, and into an inheritance that can never perish, spoil or fade-kept in heaven for you, who through faith are shielded by God’s power until the coming of the salvation that is ready to be revealed in the last time.  In this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials.  These have come so that your faith-of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire-may be proved genuine and may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed.”  1 Peter 1: 3-7

Wow, those are very encouraging words.  Just to know we are shielded by God’s power as we walk through this life is amazing.  We need to rejoice in that fact, but even though we are shielded we still will suffer grief in all kinds of trials.  There is no free pass in this life, even if we are serving Jesus we will be tested and tried.

Light afflictions, momentary troubles and worse, sometimes come to everyone in this world. However, these difficulties are used to work within us a great eternal glory.  The key is in how we choose to walk when confronted with adversity.  It is best when we choose to walk THROUGH problems, flood and fire, instead of trying to avoid negative things by going around them.  If God is with us, shielding us, it does not matter what we are up against.  I am certain that the Lord wants us to keep moving forward and to never look back while in the midst of struggles and trials.

The Lord uses these trials to prove our faith and determine whether or not we are genuine and true in all things that we may face.  It is a privilege to be tried in such a manner and it proves once again that we are His sons and daughters.  This builds our faith and trust because we know He will never leave or forsake us.  No trial is too difficult….  No mountain too high….  No river too wide…. No conflict too great….  If we walk in the Spirit He will always be with us, every step of the way, and in Jesus we will always be more than conquerors.

So the next time you find yourself up against a problem…remember it is not about the size of the obstacle… it is about Christ in you being able to overcome any trial or test.  When I am confronted with a problem in my life, I no longer try to avoid it.  Now I just lift up my head and pray “Let’s go for it Jesus!”  Sometimes I have disappointed myself, but I have NEVER been disappointed by the Lord.  When I surrender and allow Him to carry me through amazing things happen, but when I try to go for it on my own nothing good happens.  When I am weak, HE is strong.  Today I choose His strength over and above any of my own personal attributes.  Because of that today is going to be a good day.

Love and…….

Kirk Out !

 

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. I agree that we really only have two choices in relation to suffering- that of embracing them or attempting to avoid them or suppress them. Their is without question a great benefit derived from embracing them as many a scripture would testify. On the contrary, avoiding them more or less amounts to dealing with them in our own resources.
    I don’t find it dificult to accept that God is the author of my trials and difficulties, although at times I may make them more difficult for myself. I wonder at times though, in relation to what is and is not His provision, what is and is not my own solution. Is any apparent solution to a problem actually God’s will? Of course not, yet for most human beings any solution is better than no solution. We are quick to grasp what will alleviate the suffering and bring any temporal relief.

    The real trial is often not what it might appear, but merely the waiting itself- whether we are willing to suffer in the midst of the waiting.

  2. I don’t see God as the Author of my trials and tribulations, as if He were toying with me or setting me up. Rather, I see Him as the one who redeems my trials. Poop happens, not because God willed it upon me, but simply because we live in a world corrupted by sin. And the devil. He messes with us. But I don’t see God doing that. “Lead me not into temptation; but deliver me from evil.” Just my 2 cents.

  3. "BK" permalink

    “These have come so that your faith-of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire-may be proved genuine and may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed.” 1 Peter 1: 3-7 As I read this, and Gary’s reply, I think I realized for the first time it isn’t TO JESUS my faith is proved genuine, but to ME. When I go through a trial and see how embracing Him brought me through it, my faith proves to be genuine. I think of Rom. 1:3-5 where it says the process of coming through trials produces hope within me “He did it last time, He’ll do it again.”
    One last example, it’s like the wind blowing hard on a tree. It causes the ground where the roots hold to be shaken and loosened and the roots actually can then grow deeper and the tree is left stronger. That’s what trials do to us; shake the ground so we sink our roots deeper into God. When the trial is over, the roots don’t wither back, we just find ourselves that much more in Him.
    Just my random thoughts, “BK”

Leave a Reply

