Skip to content

Let The Wind Blow

January 21, 2013

Greetings,

Be self-controlled and alert.  Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.  Resist him, standing firm in the faith, because you know that your brothers throughout the world are undergoing the same kind of sufferings.  And the God of all grace, who called you to His eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will Himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast.  To Him be the power for ever and ever.  Amen.  1 Peter 5: 8-11

We had an excellent time of open & free, Spirit led, fellowship here yesterday.  Everyone participated and shared concerning things that the Lord had placed on their hearts and we were all built up and edified in the Spirit.  Jesus was clearly lifted up in our midst and His love flowed through every member.  One person was a first time visitor that had never been a part of an open gathering before.  She loved the fellowship and said she was touched by the Lord and wanted more.

One brother shared about how we need to be a consistent and steady witness to those we encounter in life.  He said that we all needed to extend Christ’s love and mercy to everyone we meet along the way.  We all agreed with this brother and some shared about the rewards and difficulties of living our lives in such a relational and rock steady manner.

To me it is all about being like a prevailing wind.  Prevailing winds don’t get many headlines if any at all.  Big storms, tornadoes and hurricanes blow through regions leaving behind them a huge damage path.  They get all the attention and the headlines.  However, it is the prevailing steady winds that really shape the terrain and impact the environment the most over time.

I feel we all need to be steady and consistent in our relationships.  Jesus should be the constant driving force in all our lives.  I want to be true and dependable and someone that people can reach out to when they hit the rough patches in their lives.  I want to be seen as someone who is loving, accepting, kind, merciful and true.  We all need to live our lives in such a manner that people can trust and depend upon us.  Always sharing grace and withholding harsh judgment.  In my town I want to be the guy that people in need turn to for compassion and honesty.  I want Christ to develop in me character that stands the test of time.

In the end the only thing that matters is truth expressing itself in love, and that only truly happens in our relationships.  No one on their deathbed says they wanted to work more or buy more stuff; what they do say is that they wish they had spent more time with their loved ones and building solid relationships.  Jesus is about relationships.  Faith is about relationships and the church should be about relationships too.  I want to spend my life building relationships in a solid and steady manner.  I don’t care about the hottest new movement in the church or the new trends in worship.  I just want Jesus and I hope I am living my life in such a manner that this is obvious for all to see.   Let the wind of the Spirit blow and move me like a prevailing wind.

Love and….

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. One of the things I’m discovering these days again is that no matter how much I’d like everyone else to be like me and think like I do, that just isn’t reality now is it?
    I’ve been blessed recently to have been able to meet many new friendships and at times am quick to judge what people say or how they act out. It’s not due to thinking I’m better or wiser than anyone else- it’s because I want them to see and understand what God has enabled me to experience in my relationship with Him and others at times. I desire to bring them closer to Christ and to encourage them along the way.
    What I continue to discover is if I’ll suspend any judgment and be willing to simply hear the overflow of another’s heart, I can see relatively quickly what influences and people have shaped those particular individual’s lives. I’ll know of the various “winds” those people have encountered and how their beliefs, attitudes and actions were formed over time. In most cases, my initial judgments are only partially true and had I spoken prematurely I may have damaged a relationship that was only beginning to blossom.
    All of us have likely been “damaged” to a degree by the fierce winds of hatred, rage, bitter jealousy and selfish ambition. These winds uproot the very fabric of our lives at times, the foundations where faith, trust and love need to be cultivated and shared. In the very place and with the very people where we look to be loved, accepted and significant, here we find our hopes and dreams violated.
    It is sad that so few who name the name of Christ these days take the time to cultivate more intimacy in relationship with those around them. If they had, they would most likely discover more than they had bargained for, often in a positive way. I know that is true for me, provided my aim is to give and serve verses looking for some personal advantage from someone I hardly know.
    I love Christopher’s illustration of prevailing winds. We all should desire to be those winds among the people we know and encourage them to do likewise.
    God has His reasons for the wind, and know matter how much men attempt to predict it’s origin, speed and destination, in most cases the wind throws them a curve. That’s what I’m discovering about those of the Spirit. They arn’t always predicable, nor are they always as straight as I would prefer. They too are being shaped by God’s undercurent, and often bringing forth both the new as well as the old.
    I enjoyed our fellowship as well Christopher, and was reminded once again that often God’s lesson is derived from ‘the least of these.”

    • "BK" Zimmer permalink

      Wow, this was absolutely beautiful….both Chris’ post and your comment. I, too, loved the example of prevailing winds. There was a house I lived in back in the early 70’s that sheltered a little tree from almost all wind. When a big storm came up you could see its shallow root base and it would nearly blow over. The Lord spoke to me about that little tree. He said trees NEED stormy winds to blow on them because their shaking loosened the dirt in the roots, allowing them to then go deeper into the ground. When the storm was over, the roots never shriveled back up, but the tree was all the stronger and more deeply rooted. So, even those negative winds serve a purpose; sending our roots deeper into God; teaching us we CAN forgive, heal, love again. Nothing is wasted. Thanks again for these posts. I was so blessed by them, “BK”

Leave a Reply

