Skip to content

GODPLEASER

December 29, 2012

Greetings,

Jesus said:

“I have come to bring fire on the earth, and how I wish it were already kindled!  But I have a baptism to undergo, and how distressed I am until it is completed!  Do you think I came to bring peace on earth?  No, I tell you, but division.  From now on there will be five in one family divided against each other, three against two and two against three.”  Luke 12: 49-52

Today I am very sad and brokenhearted.  Two of my family members have decided to cut off their relationship with me because of my views on the “Church”.  Strange thing is all at the same time I feel strengthened in my Spirit.  I have held these views for over 30 years now and this is the first time I have been cut off in such a way by family.  I have lost friends over theological disputes like this in the past, but the funny thing is that most all of them have come back eventually apologizing and wanting to reconnect;  Sometimes even decades later.

I most certainly am not right all the time and several times it has been me repenting and seeking reconciliation.  However, I cannot change who I am in Christ or tone down the revelations HE has given me.  To do so would sacrifice honesty, truth and love; for the sake of acceptance in the eyes of men.  

Just once I would like to be the nice guy with the nice and non-offensive, people-pleasing message.  However, I am usually the one given the harsh and bluntly honest words.  I don’t choose what Jesus wants me to share; I am just obedient to share exactly what He gives me.  Who in their right mind would choose such offensive, trouble making dialogue?  

However, it is Jesus I seek to please and not ANYONE else.  Knowing in my heart that I will be accepted among the beloved, in spite of my words, in due time.  If it were up to me I would piss off a lot fewer people than I do, but that is not my lot.  I am called to share what HE gives me, when HE gives it to me, in the way HE gives it to me.  To deny Him that very place in my life, would be much more costly than the loss of family or friends.  I cannot and will not deny Christ in my life, even if that means being rejected and avoided by men.

Didn’t Jesus say something like…if they hated me…they will hate you also?  I thank God for those of you who love me and understand me.  I guess my message for today is to be bold and be strong concerning who you are in Christ and the message He has given you.  Like PETRA sang many years ago…I want to be a Godpleaser, not a man-pleaser.

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

PS.  Petra 1983, Album:  “Not Of This World”

 

From → Uncategorized

11 Comments
  1. Reformed by the Spirit permalink

    It is sad that these two men will not engage in an honest, open and healing dialogue with you. They defend an earthly institution…not the body of Christ..by their response. You have made nothing but very valid points that God would have you share. You have to stick with your convictions …. I am with you brother…

  2. Martin permalink

    Chris, from my perspective, I love u, and don’t want to u to loose your voice. But, yes, you use combative language. I actually disagree with you a lot, and say so sometimes, to which I think we’ve both learned that it doesn’t matter if we disagree, what matters is we love each other. I don’t even think of “Christ” anymore, preferring the more universal term of “the source”. I use this because it’s inclusive of any who believe, not just those who are bible believers. So, yes, if they called you combative then I agree. But, I never feel threatened by your views, however you choose to expresse them- with combative words, or with more accepting terms and words- , cause I suppose I have a healthy ego.

    Oh, and one more thing, I myself prefer to never say “Christ gave me these things to say” or “God told me so” simply because they are arrogant, and non accepting of others own ways of receiving inspiration from the source. We are all on a journey towards the source. And, to yell over at someone on another journey declaring they are on the wrong path, is to me, arrogant and not uplifting.

    The words I have used here may be too broad in scope for you, because you believe in a single path to heaven, and I accept that. Tis cool with me,

  3. Thanks for sharing Martin, I am able to accept criticism and actually invite it and then move on better informed, I know I share harsh things at times, but I know no other way to remain true, pure and honest to The Faith, If given other options I might choose them, but that is not for me to decide, you of all people know how accepting I am of others who disagree with my portion, I love you bro!

  4. Although I am saddened as well by these events, something else troubles me along these lines. Just where does any professing Christian find justification for “cutting off a relationship” with another believer? I can understand having difficulty communicating and disagreeing about matters. I can see people getting angry and walking away from a conversation or keeping their distance even for a season. But “cutting off a relationship,” sorry folks, that is as far from Christian as the devil is from heaven. That’s like telling God that you’re going to do something that He forbids you to do despite Him who says, “what I’ve joined together let no man separate.” And be not deceived, that’s exactly what God has done with His children. It is not him who stands his ground, speaks the truth or even offends others while doing so that will find guilt before God. It is he who willingly disregards God’s commands for their own self interests. Proverbs states this well in chapter 18:1;

    “He who separates himself seeks his own desire, he quarrels against all sound wisdom”

    Needless to say this has nothing to do with “church,” -an english word that didn’t even exist in the 1st century and everything to do with an unwillingness to be diligent to preserve the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace. [Ephesians 4:3] Those who fail in this fail because “they refuse” to be peaceful. This would also amount to more direct disobedience in the face of God Himself.

    We need to remember that despite what Jesus has promised the faithful, God always desires for men to be reconciled. This is not a war against other men or differing opinions which exist throughout varying stages of growth, it is a war against principalities that deceive men into taking the easy way out. Thank God, Jesus didn’t compromise nor exchange what might have seemed good for God’s ultimate best. We ought to learn to do the same.

    Thanks Chris, for sharing your heart and the truth God’s given you over the years and seasons. Like you, I know in whom I have believed and nothing or no one is taking that from me or dragging me down to some man’s level of what they deem to be acceptable service. Like you, I’ve counted the cost of being a disciple a long time ago- their is never any question as to whether I will love, forgive or aim to bring about reconciliation. These are as natural as breathing for it is Him who meets these challenges and difficulties for us and through us.

    Stand therefore my friend, as God has made you able. Though we be few, we are not better. Though we be faithful, we are not condemning. Though we are few, we will stand where most won’t.
    I’m grateful that I have met you recently and that our Father continues whether together or separate to shape our character into His precious image. Our sufferings, though real and painful do not compare to His, nor the glory they are producing.

    We shall continue to pray for all men, that they will seek Jesus and Him alone and find Him as their all sufficiency.

    I stand with you my friend, the who, what or where is irrelevant.

  5. Mickey Merrie permalink

    We, that is my wife and I were informed that her sister was parting ways just prior to the “holliday season” which then extended to her brother and his home where “the hollidays” would be “celebrated. This sister in law has 2 sons caled by God…er…mom to the “ministry.” So we celebrated Christmas day at home with our children for the fist time in our married lives. It was WONDERFUL!
    A few months ago I was branded a wolf by our good friends pastor son simply for trying to get an elder at their “church” to see that “the building” while a convenient place to meet was not the central pice of christianity and that we were the ones to go out and preach the gospel, not invite folks in to see the new addition and perhaps find it so cozy as to “make a decision” for a jesus who was then bound to grant you eternity in heaven!
    The fact of the matter is that the majority of the folks in pews are reprobate and blind and their guides are blind also. As nice as we try to be with them THEY are the very folks who would have you killed and think they are doing God a favor! As my wife likes to point out, (and actually did this with our Hindu opthamologist) we cannot turn a light up high enough for a blind man to see, nor the music loud enough for a deaf man to hear!
    When she spoke to our dear friend who has a kind heart and generous nature, he being Hindu and being comfortable with thousands of gods would tell her that there are many ways to god. She point blank asked him if a blind man was in his exam room, could he turn the lights up bright enough for that blind man to see? He exclaimed, “Of course not he is blind!” She then told him that this was his spiritual condition and that he needed to cry out to the Living God to see also.
    …And do you know he has never cut us off like the religious in churchianity!?!? It is absolutely amazing how open the world is to at least hear the things of God, yet the chair is manics in churchianity are as closed minded as the Pharasees, who had Christ crucified since they couldn’t take Roman law into their own hands, yet by the time Stephen spoke Truth to them they were bold enough to stone him! We are mere months to a few years away from this occurring in America it seems…

    “They lived in the desert and slept in caves being outcasts and the world is not worthy of them.”

    “The prophets prophesy lies and the religious leaders rule by their own authority, and the people love to have it so…But what will you do in the end thereof.”

    “You never allow me to speak good things to these people.”

    The last 2 are to be found in Jeremiah, and the first is from the New Testament I believe.

    Just this month I gained 2 new members of my spiritual family at a lunch in Sturgis Michigan and I am blessed by God because of it!

  6. bill wood permalink

    greetings IN THE NAME above all names!!!

    Your blog here brings to mind the words of the Lord through our elder brother Paul, “if I seek to please men, a bondslave of Christ I am not.” Gal.1:10

    And then there’s Stephen…….harsh words indeed to the hardened hearted……got him stoned to death.

    And then of course we have our Savior Himself turning over the money changer’s tables.

    May zeal for God’s house, His dwelling place in the midst of His people, continue to consume you.

  7. Martin permalink

    Chris, You didn’t listen to what I said. You read into it what you wanted , and repeated what you’d already said. I gave you ways you can share the same thing without being combative. If you can’t use non-combative words, and say the same thing then it’s you can work on stuff. My opinion is you find safety in the way you draw lines between the IC and the HC ideal, and hence you see no other way of doing things. I feel that when you say you have “no other way” of sharing this , what you really mean is you feel no one will hear you unless you are not in combat with something, or some ideal.

  8. Mickey Merrie permalink

    Martin, may I ask you a question? Is it the message or the way it is delivered a problem for you?

    I can almost hear you correcting Jesus for His combative tone to Peter, whom He had just praised for hearing from God that in fact, “You are the Christ the Son of the Living God.” When shortly thereafter Peter says, “Far be it form You Lord this won’t happen to you.” This in regards to Jesus’ declaration that the Son of man would be crucified. Jesus rebuked Him by saying, “Get thee behind me Satan, for you have your mind on the things of man and not on the things of God.”
    I don’t know Martin but that you are perhaps shooting the messinger for the message. But that’s just what I seem to be seeing…

    By the way, your way of calling the Lord of the universe “the source” rings very much as New Age and Emergent. This is particularly true as you make the statement,”We are all on a journey toward the source.” This statement is at complete odds with and uncompatible with “Christ in me the hope of glory.” For you see He is the only seeker. See below for the biblical references.
    http://bible.cc/colossians/1-27.htm
    http://bible.cc/luke/19-10.htm
    http://bible.cc/romans/3-11.htm
    http://bible.cc/john/15-16.htm
    http://bible.cc/1_peter/2-9.htm

    Then there is this issue: ” We are all on a journey towards the source. And, to yell over at someone on another journey declaring they are on the wrong path, is to me, arrogant and not uplifting. The words I have used here may be too broad in scope for you, because you believe in a single path to heaven, and I accept that.”

    Your lack of capitalization of “Source” refers to a mystical power verses a Living God. Your “broader scope” and derogatory reference to Chris’ belief in a “single path to heaven” which you dialectally accept lead readers to the conclusion that you hold to a broader road with many paths, like a Hindu would believe, again pointing to eastern mystery religious influences. Again I would point you to these scriptures:
    http://bible.cc/matthew/7-13.htm
    http://bible.cc/matthew/7-14.htm
    http://bible.cc/john/14-6.htm
    http://bible.cc/john/14-7.htm

    For context I give you these verses:

    The Narrow and Wide Gates

    13“Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. 14But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.

    A Tree and Its Fruit

    15“Watch out for false prophets. They come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ferocious wolves. 16By their fruit you will recognize them. Do people pick grapes from thornbushes, or figs from thistles? 17Likewise every good tree bears good fruit, but a bad tree bears bad fruit. 18A good tree cannot bear bad fruit, and a bad tree cannot bear good fruit. 19Every tree that does not bear good fruit is cut down and thrown into the fire. 20Thus, by their fruit you will recognize them.

    21“Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. 22Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and in your name drive out demons and perform many miracles?’ 23Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!’

    The Wise and Foolish Builders

    24“Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. 25The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock. 26But everyone who hears these words of mine and does not put them into practice is like a foolish man who built his house on sand. 27The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house, and it fell with a great crash.”

    28When Jesus had finished saying these things, the crowds were amazed at his teaching, 29because he taught as one who had authority, and not as their teachers of the law.

    Frankly Martin, your path will lead you to destruction, lest you cry out to Christ Jesus to send you the Holy Spirit to show your your wicked hopelessness, and your need for the Savior and Lord Jesus the Christ as you repent of your sin.

    I care so I tell you, friend!

  9. Martin permalink

    Frankly, who ever you are, “<Mickey Merri," Your way is dull, borring, restrictive, and dead. Dead to life. Dead to the source. Dead to love. Dead to joy. Quoting magic at someone, doesn't make it more alive, dude, it makes it more dead. Treating the ancient texts as if they were a "Harry poter book of magic spells" is offensive to Paul, Peter, james and John, and to the great teacher Jesus. He wanted most to teach us how to love properly, and live. YES LIVE!
    Enough, and this will be my last post here. Why, because simply, I want to live!

  10. bill wood permalink

    isn’t it amazing how the dross comes to the surface to be consumed by THE FIRE!!!?

  11. Mickey Merrie permalink

    http://bible.cc/luke/9-24.htm
    Please read the cross references on the right margin as well for further clarification of just where you really are Martin…
    Also these, and read the cross references as well:
    http://bible.cc/luke/9-62.htm
    http://bible.cc/john/3-30.htm
    http://bible.cc/matthew/16-24.htm
    And this one for all who have experienced this issue:
    http://bible.cc/1_samuel/8-7.htm

Leave a Reply

