Skip to content

Timing Is Everything

December 17, 2012

Greetings,

“A word aptly spoken is like apples of gold in settings of silver.”  Proverbs 25:11

We had a wonderful time of fellowship here last evening,  A dear like-minded brother, Michael F., from Grand Rapids drove a 100 miles one way to spend some time with us.  My buddy Michael Clark from Idaho, who comments here often, introduced us to each other and suggested that we meet face to face sometime.

We made a connection in Jesus, via the Spirit, that happened very quickly.  Soon we were sharing with each other just like we had known one another for many years.  First we feasted together on Italian beef and scalloped potatoes.  As we broke bread together the conversation was deep and lively.

As always my guitar was tuned and ready to go, but tonight The Spirit had other plans for us all.  After the meal we continued to share the truth in love with one another and the dialogue was so rich and meaty that we did not even need to open a bible.  Our conversation was full of biblical truths and concepts and the more we opened our hearts and lives to one another the more we were mutually blessed by the Spirit’s illumination.

During our time together The Lord seemed to have us focus on several different things.  First and foremost was the importance of being in step with God’s timing when we share with others.  Because sometimes we share too much too fast with those seeking a better way of BEING the church.  I know I have struggled with this many times in my life in Christ.  We need to avoid dumping too much truth on people before their God appointed time to receive total freedom from the institutional system.  We need to remember that often coming to believe in God’s better way is a process that occurs in stages over a number of days, months, or even years.  Another key is that normally we can only speak into someone else’s life to the depth and extent that we are in relationship with them.  We need to make sure we are in God’s appointed time and season for the person we are relating the truth in love to.  Our words to others need to be timely, true and loving.  We need to recognize when we are sharing under His anointing and make sure we are not pushing an issue in our flesh just because we believe it to be true.  So really it is all about timing, timing, timing, and relationship, relationship, relationship!

The last thing that The Lord shared with us last night was how vitally important it is that we all live and act as family to one another in the body of Christ.  Our connection is supposed to be tight and very close.  To the point of even being willing to lay down our lives for one another.  In this day and age for most people, even believers, it is extremely easy to be selfish and detached.  Because of this most people are not even willing to be inconvenienced for others, yet alone really lay their lives down for their Spiritual siblings.

My heart was brought under conviction last night and our Spirit led discussion illuminated some dark corners in my life and allowed me to do some personal house cleaning.  I want to love others as Jesus does.  Too many times I have spoken the truth without love.  Last night the Lord refocused my heart and mind.  I believe that we should all continually surrender and allow the Spirit to make minor and major adjustments in our lives.  Last night my sisters and brothers spoke into my life and they also allowed me to speak into theirs.  We experienced true fellowship and for that I am very thankful.

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

 

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Just a few minutes ago- literally, I was attempting to remember where this verse was found. So once again is a timely word or note from the bridge like apples of gold in settings of silver.
    I was going to respond a little later on Christopher, but I am moved by your synopsis of our fellowship last night- which I am sure is shared by all who were present and participated. Like you and others, I’ve also at times thwarted or prevented what the Spirit might desire due to some of my own “good intentions” or even “bible knowledge.” I specifically prayed about that before I visited and as it turns out, we were all very much on the same page. That doesn’t mean we were all at the same place in our lives or growth as Christians, but as you say, we became aware of something greater- Jesus and His timing amidst our individual and interconnected lives.
    Maybe more than any of you, I was the beneficiery of our time together, and it wasn’t because you all allowed me the openness to share a little of my heart and past and where Jesus is leading me for which you all graciously did. More, this was the first time in likely fifteen years that God actually allowed me to be amongst some truly like-minded saints who just wanted to share His life together, no strings attached. Sure, I’ve had fellowship during those times, but not where no selfish gain existed or other motives prevailed. The only thing each of us desired was the expression of Jesus in and through one another and how that expression could and wonderfully did draw us closer together. That is not something any of us as individuals could have ever brought to fruition on our own.
    I also want to express my gratitude to God for what He orchestrated, but also to each of you for how He was leading us. No word, testimony, confession nor prayer was out of order during our gathering.

    Please feel free to pass along my love for the saints until we meet again. I do not know when that might be, but I have found it a privilege to have met each of you, and that whether young or older in age. I look forward to meeting with you all again as our Father deems to be best.

    Another thank you should be extended to our brother out west who has learned many a lesson along these lines and continues to point people to Jesus Christ and Him Crucified. Although absent in body, Michael C. also had his part in our fellowship in the spirit, and continues to through his example in life and through his writings.

    Grace and Peace my friends. Never hesitate to share your heart or need with me. I’m learning to do the same, and in grace may we each excell even more one to another.

    forgotten among the many, remembered among the few,

    Michael

  2. "BK" permalink

    Good stuff here, Chris. I was thrilled when I heard the brother was coming down from up north to fellowship. And what a blending it was!

    Ken just read an autobiography by Helen Keller that touched him deeply. Someone she highly respected said that the Bible is written in such a way that one can find the kind of God he/she relates to i.e. angy, full of law, full of grace, loving, prosperous, etc. He said God did it that way so people have a ‘starting place’ of a relationship with Him and then as they walked with Him He could begin to adjust and expand our understanding of Who He really is. This touched us deeply in the area you speak of above….being sure it is His timing to bring another dimension or truth to someone and not just our own agenda. And to be willing to consider what others have to say, even when they contradict our own beliefs.

    When we are able to walk in Rom 14:1-2, not coming together for judgement of another’s beliefs but for the type of fellowship you describe above, we walk in His love. The fruit of this is great.

    Thanks for sharing, it blessed my day, “BK”

  3. More golden apples, Chris. I have been learning the same lessons. It is such a blessing to be part of your family, Chris, Michael F., and B.K. So glad that Jesus put the two of you together.

Leave a Reply

