Skip to content

Senseless Violence Against Children

December 14, 2012

Greetings from a heavy heart,

Jesus said to them….”If God were your Father, you would love me, for I came from God and now am here.  I have not come on my own; but He sent me.  Why is my language not clear to you?  Because you are unable to hear what I say.  You belong to your father, the devil, and you want to carry out your father’s desire.  He was a murderer from the beginning, not holding to the truth, for there is no truth in him.  When he lies, he speaks his native language, for he is a liar and the father of lies.”  John 8: 42-44

In times like these questions sure outnumber answers, that one thing is for certain.  Seems like every few weeks now men with guns and no conscience open fire on the innocent.  This time is different though, because this time the victims were little children at an elementary school.  To murder children it takes a totally twisted heart and mind.  The shooter in this case was by no doubt mentally disturbed and guided by the evil one.  

My heart goes out to all the parents, family and friends of the children and adults who were slaughtered in Connecticut.  Today I cried, sobbed and prayed my heart out for all who were effected by this tragedy.  There are simply no words to describe the anguish I felt in my heart and mind today.

Please continue to pray for the children who witnessed and lived through this mess.  They will have to live with horrific memories for the rest of their lives.  As a survivor of such senseless violence I know what kind of thoughts and nightmares these children will have to endure.  My father held a loaded gun to my head on many occasions while sexually abusing me.  I also witnessed him shoot a man in the chest twice.  The man did not die, but I remember all these events like they were yesterday.  Healing from having seen these senseless and violent acts takes time.  Many times victims repress these memories and they do not appear until later in life.  When that happens it is like a time bomb going off  and it effects every aspect of your life.  So please pray for the children both now and in their future?

I don’t speak of this often, but to me it sure seems like we are living in the end times.  I personally believe that Jesus will return sometime soon.  Now having said that I understand that “soon” could mean decades or centuries.  I don’t pretend to know when Jesus is coming back, but it sure feels like “soon” to me.

There is no good explanation for such horrible events.  However, I do believe that we live in a lost and fallen world.  Because of that evil men will do evil things and without good warning.  Tonight I will pray with more intent as I pray for my children and I will hug then extra tight…not knowing for sure what tomorrow will bring.  Please just remember that it could have just as easily been you or your children where the gunfire rang out.  The only way to real and lasting peace in this world is Jesus.

Love and….

Kirk Out !

 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Digrieze permalink

    I’ll be joining you in those prayers. Unfortunately there is an explanation for these horrors, although we don’t want to think about it. The truth is it is simple evidence that the teaching of the Bible that we live in a world separated from God is true. Sin has stained not just man, but the entire world we have grown up in. When you realize what our world could have been it’s easy to look foward to seeing it after Jesus redeems it.

    As we go into the Christmas Season we have much to celebrate with the coming of Jesus. But as we celebrate we need to remember that it was an incarnation with intent. There is no birth in a manger without His sacrifice at Calvary. There is no annunciation by the angels to the shepherds in the field without The rending of the temple veil as He died on the cross. Jesus came was deliberate, it was a mission, it was full of holy intent that He himself was able to say “it is finished”.

    That is why it is more important than ever when we see these horrors to celebrate Christmas. Because we know not only WHAT happened, we know Why it was done.

    May all of us find that love this Christmas, and especially those in the Sandy Creek community this season.

  2. "BK" permalink

    With you, Chris, in shedding many tears over this tragedy. I have to agree that the increased incidents of fatal violence come from our country moving away from God, and thereby from the love and hope He brings. Without love & hope there is no longer ‘a light at the end of the tunnel’, a hope ‘I can get this this’ or ‘things will get better. Hopeless is deadly.

    I would like to offer a thought on the young man that committed these murders on innocent children. I knew a mother once who contemplated suicide and intended to take her young child out with her so they would not have to grow up in such a painful world. It was a ‘sparing’ in her eyes. I am thankful the Lord brought her though this time with no one hurt, but I just wonder if this could have been what was in this young man’s heart. Don’t know, it just reminded me of this incident long ago and what can go on inside the mind of a person with no hope. Just thinking and sharing, “BK”

Leave a Reply

