Skip to content

NEVER!

November 23, 2012

Greetings,

“Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus,.. Romans 8: 1

I quote this passage today because I have some dear friends who are very close to me that are having a lot of trouble walking in this truth.  They love Jesus, but are living in a perpetual state of self condemnation.  Because of this they feel they are unfit and unworthy to serve God or to be in relationship with those who are serving God.  This is exactly the lie that the enemy wants them to believe.

When we condemn ourselves for our shortcomings instead of receiving the grace that Christ’s sacrifice provided for all of us, we are playing God with our own lives and calling God a liar.  We are saying that the blood of Jesus did not fully cleanse us and that we know ourselves better than God does.  When we deny Christ in this manner it always leads us to be angry, hurt and resentful towards not only ourselves, but also towards God.  

Whom the Son sets free is free indeed and we should not pass harsh judgment on ourselves and deny ourselves of His grace, mercy and love.  Sometimes I am very critical of myself and when I put myself in that frame of mind it always leads to me condemning me.  When I allow that mindset it also always leads me to withdraw from relationships with others who are serving Him.  

Guilt and condemnation NEVER come from The Lord.  NEVER!  The only cure for self condemnation is to take our eyes off of ourselves and our shortcomings and to instead focus totally on Jesus and all He has done to set us free.  Then we must accept His unconditional love and grace, knowing full well that no one is worthy on our own merit and that we all need Him to be our redeemer and Lord.

If you get anything out of this simple blog today let it be this:  NO matter how many steps we take away from The Lord, it is always only one small step back into His loving arms.  He never leaves or forsakes us.  Not even when we choose to have a bad attitude concerning our own walk with Him.  It is by grace we are saved!  I know you give grace freely to others, but how about giving yourself some today?

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

 

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Pam Smith permalink

    Very good blog today Chris. Thanks for posting this.

  2. cathy taylor permalink

    Never ceases to amaze me how God gives you just the words and in just the right way to get is point across.
    I am sure that this one will speak to all who are struggling in this area.
    This one makes me cry.
    I know this was written for me to read, and I do understand that we have to accept the fact that their is no condemnation in Jesus, I just do not understand how to accept it, I have always felt condemnation and failure and not able to live up to the standards that are expected of me, so I do push Jesus and others away because I feel like I fail them and my self.
    So show me Christopher, How do i really accept with out feeling as a failure.
    Like I have said you are strong where I am weak!
    Love cathy

    • "BK" permalink

      I can still feel those days like it was yesterday as I began working on ‘believing’ this. I used to literally drive down the road as the tapes played in my head ‘you’re this or you’re that or you’re a failure’……sheesh, they played even when I hadn’t just failed! I would literally shout, out loud, I AM NOT a ….; over and over and over. Another time I was driving down the same stretch of freeway thinking about those verses in Rom 8 “who shall separate us from the love of God” and ends up with “I am persuaded NOTHING can…..”. Well, where I come from we always added “except me”. So as I thought of it this day, the Lord spoke back to me, “It doesn’t say that.” Yikes! He sure did have my attention. He continued after He let me think about that for a bit, “I gave my LIFE for you! Who do you think you are that you would be so big to be able to separate yourself from Me when I gave My life????” Wow, I felt shackles begin to fall. So, that’s a bit of how I did it. After awhile the truth of His love outweighed the lies. Don’t give up, Cathy, it’ll be so worth it in the future as you pass on to those who come behind you how you did it. Reminds me of a song a friend of mine wrote, “Farther along, on down the way. There is someone just like me. Someone who needs to know-o-o, just how He did it for me.” Ok, crying now 🙂 Joyful tears, “BK”

  3. Like I said, sometimes I struggle with this too Cathy; I think about everybody does from time to time.
    What works for me is taking Him at His word, whether His word comes from the bible, other saints, or His voice directly. Somehow He allows me to see myself through His eyes of love instead of my eyes of condemnation. I know, easier said than done; but don’t give up. Many are praying for you.

    • This is what works for me too. Taking Him at His word. I simply decide that it doesn’t matter how I feel, what matters is what God says. I don’t believe what I feel, I believe what God says. No matter what.

  4. Counselor Troi permalink

    Yet it can be hard to accept that there is no condemnation when so many so-called ministers will seize the opportunity to judge others. I personally remember one specific conversation where a certain person made a comment towards me that “you’re not living right”. Now i can tell you that a comment like that can haunt the mind of an individual for a lifetime. So i would advise others to be very careful in their words. And above all else, because it is true that there is no condemnation, live free….

Leave a Reply

