Skip to content

A Message From Jesus And “Wreck It Ralph”

November 5, 2012

Greetings,

“If you really keep the royal law found in scripture, “Love your neighbor as yourself,” you are doing right.  But if you show favoritism, you sin and are convicted by the law as lawbreakers.”  James 2: 8-9

Yes, yes very often Jesus speaks to me through movies and the latest Disney offering did not disappoint. Yesterday I took, Lydia, my 13 year old to see “Wreck It Ralph”.  To my surprise the nearly full theater was occupied with mostly adults.  I walked into the theater with very low expectations, but was pleasantly surprised.  The movie was not only very entertaining, but it also had a very deep and mature message.  At least that is what I saw and took in.  I won’t ruin it for those intending to see this film, but I will acknowledge a theme that emerged and that I applaud with my whole heart and mind.

That theme is a topic that much of the church seems to avoid and ignore most of the time.  The problem that this movie addressed was prejudice and bigotry.  In the film two of the main characters are judged and rejected by their peers because they were different than the others.  Just how often does that happen within traditional “churches”?  I have seen it happen too many times to count.  People are rejected and judged all the time because of how they look, sound, act and smell, but also because of their social class, career, skin tone and amount of money that they possess.  

Jesus told us to love our neighbor as we love our very own selves.  That means we should love and accept everyone regardless of any real or perceived flaws or anything else for that matter.  In James it also says that favoritism is forbidden and a sin.  If this is true, which it is, then why aren’t our church facilities filled with the unlovely and unwanted every Sunday morning and throughout the week?  Could it be because the churches and their Leadership are bigots?  It is easy to love the lovely and invite them in, but what about the unwashed masses who need and deserve the love and full acceptance of The Lord and His church?  Don’t tell me the church doesn’t play favorites, when we all know it does.

Don’t get me wrong… I have been in several fellowships where they fully welcomed anyone including crack whores and bag ladies, but that is by far the exception and not the rule.  I know I have fallen WAY short of  His goal where it comes to this matter.  I need to constantly remind myself that it is not the healthy who need a Doctor, but the sick.  That sweet Disney kiddie movie made me look at myself in the mirror and I did not like everything I saw.  Those of you who know me know that I welcome anyone with heart and arms open wide, but I am still uneasy with certain people.  I can usually get along with anyone except Pharisees, but I am wrong to judge and avoid them too.  Hell, sometimes (gulp) I even am one.  I give this movie two thumbs up, but the church still needs some work.

Love and……

Kirk Out !

 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. cathy taylor permalink

    Yes we do all need to look in the mirror, I have been looking and do not like what I see.
    We all need to be free of the world’s way of seeing people and judging people, an hard change
    to make when that is all you have ever known.
    But you are right if Jesus is our world we have to see people through his eyes not ours, and let him bring the transformation into our lives to see people how he see’s them not how our flesh sees them.
    As usual another great one Christopher, always speaks to me.
    Love Cathy

    • "BK" permalink

      Amen, Cathy. I guess the only word I would change for my own experience is I ‘get’ to be free from the world’s way of seeing people. Dang if I could just never make those ‘needed’ changes myself no matter how many times I saw them. I like ‘and let Him bring the transformation into our lifes…’. Great stuff, Cathy.

      Once when Ken & I were on the road we were sitting in a buffet in who knows what town, and we decided we would look around at every table and look for Jesus in each and every person (going on the scripture ‘this is that Light that lighteth every man that comes into the world.”) What an experience! I’ll never forget how beautiful everyone looked. Some we had to look deeper than others to find Him, but wow, it was just so very cool.

      Anyway, that’s my thoughts and amens…..still on my bosses’ dime! “BK”

Leave a Reply

