Skip to content

Two Thoughts

October 29, 2012

Greetings,

Today I have two distinct thoughts rolling around in my head and I am not sure if either one of them is blog worthy.  So I am just going to throw them out here and see what happens.

Thought one:  “However, the Most High does not live in houses made by men.”  Stephen said that in Acts 7 just before he was stoned to death.  Another version says it like this, “The Spirit of The Lord no longer dwells in temples made by human hands.”

So whenever a Pastor or anyone else refers to their “church” building as “God’s House”, they are telling a huge lie.  Right here in my town there is a “church” called “His House”.  The pastor there is a friend of mine and I have told him flat out that they need to change the name, but he just doesn’t see it that way.  Many times I have heard men say “Welcome to God’s House”.  Just how sad is that?  To be that far from the truth?  The truth is that those who follow Jesus are God’s house and His Spirit lives in us.

Thought two:  The only times Jesus passed an offering plate was in offering fish and bread to those who were hungry, like in John 6.  Jesus never took up a collection so why should we?  Problem is that less than 5% of the money collected by traditional “churches” actually goes to real ministry like feeding the poor and taking care of the elderly and orphans.  Over 95% of the “churches” intake of funds goes to building funds, maintaining buildings, paying Clergy, and institutional maintenance.  None of which is really needed to actually BE the church and serve God.  The Church abdicated its role as the mercy giver when it became an institution instead of a Body, and now the government is trying to fill that spot.  And it just doesn’t work well that way does it?

I am sorry if this blog doesn’t measure up, but I am intoxicated with the smell of my newborn grandson Kaden.  My heart is full of joy at his arrival and my thoughts are fixed on him.  So today I simply shared what little else I had on my heart and mind.  My heart is so filled with sincere love and right now nothing else matters.  If anyone wants to add or subtract from what I have shared here today, please do so in the comments?

Love and….

Kirk Out !

 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Gary permalink

    Thought 2, Jesus never took an offering, or there is no record of Him collecting an offering, however there are places in scripture where donations were made to Jesus and the twelve, John accused Judas of skimming from the treasury. There are sheep in other flocks; and wolves in sheep’s clothing. I want people to know the Truth, I’m not sure ripping at Denominational Religiosity gets them to know the truth!
    I love you brother, and I rejoice with you in all the goodness Abba has granted.
    Love & Hugs
    Buff.

    • “Jesus said to them, ‘Watch out, and beware of the yeast of the Pharisees and Sadducees.’ They said to one another, ‘It is because we have brought no bread.’ And becoming aware of it, Jesus said, ‘You of little faith, why are you talking about having no bread? Do you still not perceive? Do you not remember the five loaves for the five thousand, and how many baskets you gathered? Or the seven loaves for the four thousand, and how many baskets you gathered? How could you fail to perceive that I was not speaking about bread? Beware of the yeast of the Pharisees and Sadducees!’ Then they understood that he had not told them to beware of the yeast of bread, but of the teaching of the Pharisees and Sadducees.” (Matthew 16:6-12)

      It would appear that ripping at denominational religiosity DOES get people to know the truth.

Leave a Reply

