Skip to content

Do You Know Him, Or Just Know About Him?

September 16, 2012

Greetings,

“His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of Him who called us by His own glory and goodness.  Through these He has given us His very great and precious promises, so that through them you may participate in the divine nature and escape the corruption in the world caused by evil desires.”  2 Peter 1: 3-4

We cannot even fathom how much God really loves us.  It says here that He has given us EVERYTHING we need for life and godliness.  In Christ we lack NOTHING.  Stop, pause and ponder that for a moment? I mean WOW!  Through knowing Him we are made complete.  This speaks of more than just believing in Him.  This is about intimately knowing and experiencing Him in your daily life.  Many people know ABOUT God, but that is not at all the same as truly knowing Him and His heart, will and ways.  This is not about what we know with our intellect, it is about knowing in Spirit and truth,with our complete inner being.  Most people worship God from afar, but this is about worshiping Him from within, totally up close and personal.  It is time to trust in, cling to, and rely on Jesus for everything.  He gives Himself to us and in turn we give ourselves totally to Him.  Relationship is everything and He presents Himself to us and all we have to do is surrender and respond to His glory and goodness.  Jesus stands at the door of our hearts and knocks.  So go ahead open the door and let Him in.

If we walk with Him we get to live in His promises and participate in His divine nature.  If His nature lives within us then we get to escape the corruption of the world.  We will still have to deal with corruption, but it will not come from within us and it will not overtake us and overly burden our lives.

I find it interesting that the corruption in the world is caused by evil desires.  Please notice that it is not caused by evil deeds, although deeds follow desires.  If His divine nature truly is allowed to live within us then our desires will line up with His will and not be evil.  We should not be overcome with evil, we should overcome evil with good.  This is only possible by The Christ living in us being greater than the world.  After all, Christ in us is THE Hope of glory.

Love and …..

Kirk Out !

 

 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. jayne permalink

    Such an excellent question and I love your answer. Sometimes I think I live my life to simple- my concerns hardly go out any farther than friends, family, neighbors. Sometimes this bothers me; most of the time it does not. God HAS given me everything I need for life! And lately, He has been driving me more and more back to an even more simple life. He just wants me to trust Him. And live my life accordingly. He wants me to, according to 1 Thess 4:11, “Make it my ambition to lead a quiet life, to mind my own business and to work with my hands.” We will be moving tomorrow into the house of God’s choosing. It is a beautiful house, located on the outskirts of town. I’ve been feeling like this is going to be a lifestyle change as well. Hard to put this into words… cuz it won’t really be a lifestyle change, it will simply be MORE of Him in how I’m already living. Because I do know Him!! I am excited! And so is God.
    Today’s blog was another stepping stone on this spiritual journey for me.

  2. Dyesebel barbecho permalink

    Its true….God give us evrything we need….all we have to do is thank him for all he gives us,and embrace what he wants for us to be….our world,is very beautiful but bcoz of evil desires it turns up of pain….and evil deeds will nxt…it is better that someone will always encouraged and enlighten our mind when we are feeling down so that evil deeds wont happen……

Leave a Reply

