Skip to content

HUGE Grace

September 8, 2012

Greetings,

“When you were dead in your sins and in the uncircumcision of your sinful nature, God made you alive with Christ.  He forgave us all our sins, having canceled the written code, with its regulations, that was against us and that stood opposed to us; He took it away, nailing it to the cross.  And having disarmed the powers and authorities, He made a public spectacle of them, triumphing over them by the cross.”  Colossians 2: 13-15

Wow, very heavy words!  What struck me when reading this passage is that God made us alive with Christ even before we repented and believed in Him.  That just opens a huge can of theological worms, doesn’t it?  I mean while we were dead in our sins and all about our sinful nature, that is when He made us alive and saved us.  All of this occurred before we ever confessed and asked Him into our lives.  According to this passage the cross was triumphant in our lives even before we ever acknowledged Jesus as our Lord and savior.

Can it be that we were actually saved long before we ever knew it?  How does this passage fit in with Romans 10: 9 &10?  There it says that IF we confess and believe we will be saved.  However, God is not restricted by time, so maybe the order in which we confess doesn’t really matter.  I still feel that we need to acknowledge Him and the work that He did on the cross, but it seems that God had us firmly in the palm of His hand way before we did anything on our own accord to receive Him.

It seems to me that grace was given and applied before we ever had a clue as to who He really was.  His providence was in effect even before our cooperation was ever considered.  Don’t get me wrong I still feel we need to cooperate and work out our salvation with fear and trembling, but I will also say that the Grace of our Lord is immensely deeper and wider than almost any church has presented it in history.  My current beliefs fall short of endorsing the idea of Universal Reconciliation, but theologically, and socially my beliefs lean further left than they ever have.  I value relationship over doctrine any day.  Is that just because I am getting old, or is it yet another renewal of my heart and mind?  Either way I still say that Grace is HUGE and we are small.

Love and……

Kirk Out !

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. timbushong permalink

    Actually this doctrine is what reformed theology has taught since the beginning- to whit, that in order for a sinner, dead in sins and at enmity with God, to respond to the general call of the gospel, he must first be born from above. IOW- regeneration precedes faith.

  2. Wow Tim, I studied Calvin and other reformers in college, but I had never heard it put exactly this way. Do you hold to the entire TULIP or just a portion of it?

  3. "BK" Zimmer permalink

    Well, in my loooooooooong journey to the belief Jesus indeed did save all, Rom 10:9-10 rang in me alot. What the Lord seemed to point out to me one day is it DOES NOT say “Confess your sins”, it says, “Confess the Lord Jesus” which to me is vastly different. I’m glad you can’t place yourself in the “Universal Reconciliation” camp….alot comes with that when you take the label. But to see that Jesus is the Saviour of all men, that is how I see it and say it. Also, I’m with you on believing in the working with Him in it all; the more we coorperate in this life, the freer we become. I enjo.yed your thoughts, Chris, “BK”

  4. Chris- I’m a “6-pointer”- because we really should start with God’s sovereignty, but then it’s “STULIP”, and that’s just odd. And sometimes, people with an ax to grind against biblical theology will misrepresent it- “straw-man” it, if you will, so that it doesn’t sound appealing or reasonable. Perhaps that’s what happened at school?

Leave a Reply

