Skip to content

It’s Not About The Book

June 3, 2012

Greetings,

“He has made us competent as ministers of a new covenant – not of the letter but of The Spirit; for the letter kills, but the Spirit gives life.”  2 Corinthians 3: 6

Here we have it again:  The Spirit is superior to the letter.  We need The Spirit to guide us, even guide us in how we approach and use the scripture.  

I am going to try and explain this as simply as I can.  I need The Spirit more than I need the bible.  Because the Spirit inspired what is written.  That means if I don’t have a bible The Spirit can still tell me anything I need to know in the bible.  He can even give me exact chapter and verse if need be.  When I have The Spirit I have full access to everything in the bible.  The Spirit can bring to my heart and mind ANY passage that I need at ANY given time.  That means if I have The Spirit I also have the entire bible available to me at all times.  With the Spirit I lack nothing that the bible can supply.

However, If I only have the bible and not the Spirit I am lost.  Because you need the Spirit to really understand the bible.  It is the Spirit that gives the bible its life.  I need the Spirit to open the eyes of my understanding to the bible, without that understanding the bible is just another book.

If one has to choose either The Spirit or the bible.  The Spirit is the obvious choice.  If I have The Spirit I automatically have the bible also, but if I have a bible that does not guarantee that I have the Spirit too.

I am thankful that I do not have to choose between Spirit and bible.  It is good to know that no one can ever really take the bible away from me.  Sure they can confiscate the book, but as long as I have The Holy Spirit I will also have the whole counsel of scripture available to me at any time.

Does this help explain why I always say that we need to be Spirit led and not bible led?  I value and treasure the bible.  I wear them out all the time.  It is never really about the book.  It is about the Spirit who gives life via the book.  The truth needs to be written on our hearts and not merely on paper.

Love and……

Kirk Out !

From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. Captain, here is something I wrote on my blog to address this very topic:

    The Bible, as useful as it is, was not promised by Jesus to lead us into all truth. But the Spirit of Christ was. To seek God and His truth in our lives is a desire that can not be reached without the Spirit. No amount of scholastic study can bring us to Christ. Jesus said to the Bible scholars of 2000 years ago, “You search the scriptures and in them you think you will find life and it is they which speak me, and you won’t come to me that you might have life.” We must come to Jesus, He is where we find life. As John wrote, “In Him was life and the life was the light of men.” Jesus, give us your life, then of You by your Spirit we will have spiritual light.

  2. Kirk, The need to be in control, especially here in the western mindset is huge. If we drill all the way down into the reasons we have the ongoing conflicts between people using the Bible for control, and the leading of God’s Spirit, between Grace and the Law is a pretty simple one. Fallen man wants to be in control, demands it actually, always has and always will. This falleness within, finds a prefect nesting place in church leaders. Church leaders, proclaiming them selves endued with authority from God, Lord it over the people. This is the essence of the christian religion, leaders usurping Christ authentic authority, and injecting themselves between God and man. Most men are only too happy to off of the hook in regards to hearing from and dealing with God Himself. So they give their lives over to obedience to the usurpers. This church / christian religion system effectively sets up the kingdom of man. Jesus has been replaced by the church leader. Now to add credibility to their claims of authority, they point to the bible. Any third grader can take that book and making it say almost anything you want to, hence 33,000 denominations world wide. So long as the leaders can have control over others, and others accept their control in order to not have to know and experience God personally, the quid pro quo works.
    The problem (for them) arises when various truth tellers show up on the scene. Those who want to be lead by the Holy Spirit. Truth tellers must be either accepted or dismissed, the choice is up to us, who call ourselves by the name of the Lord.

  3. I really hear what both Michael and Marc are sharing, it is like whoever controls the book controls the people, when you make the bible the end all of everything it gives great power to those who are experts with the scriptures and that can lead to abuse and manipulation in a hurry. Living a life controlled by chapter and verse totally lacks the freedom that we should all find in Jesus. The Old covenant was based on The Law and there are those who want to do the same thing with The New Covenant. Scribes, Pharasees and Teachers of The Law…when will it ever end?

  4. “Living a life controlled by chapter and verse totally lacks the freedom that we should all find in Jesus.”

    Psalm 119:45: “I will walk about in freedom,
    for I have sought out your precepts.”

  5. Martin permalink

    The irony here is that those who want to only to be lead by the spirit, use the bible to prove that they only need to be lead by the SPirit. We’re all desperate to be the authority on things, and hence the need to refer to a book to prove our point.

  6. timbushong permalink

    …and the rest of us try to take a balanced approach and refuse to dichotomize between the two!

    (o;

  7. Reformed by the Holy Spirit permalink

    I don’t know that there is supposed to be a balance to seek after this Tim. There is no dichotomy here.

    To say there is an equal balance between God and the Bible is similar to a dualism approach to comparing God and Satan as equals.

    God wrote Himself into the writings of the Biblical Authors…..to such a degree that we can find a canon rule in the writings. The Gospel of John does equate Jesus to the (spoken) Word.

    Besides, Tim, wouldn’t you agree that the Creator is always greater than the Creation? That being the case, What is created from that which is spoken or understood is less than the one who continually speaks into our lives.

    Balance does not always look like “equal”.

    Tim, as I understand things, you are reformed in your theology (as I am). I need to ask you, in light of that, while in a state of total depravity, did the Father draw you to Christ by reading the Bible or by sending the comforter/Holy Spirit to speak to your heart and renew it? Was the grace of God irresistible because you read the Gospel or because the Holy Spirit revealed your depraved state and God’s unconditional acceptance of you? If it only came from the Bible, why is election limited?

Leave a Reply

