Skip to content

In Remembrance

May 28, 2012

Greetings,

“For I received from the Lord what I also passed on to you: The Lord Jesus, on the night He was betrayed, took bread, and when He had given thanks, He broke it and said, “This is my body, which is for you; do this in remembrance of me.”  In the same way, after supper He took the cup, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in my blood; do this, whenever you drink it, in remembrance of me.”  For whenever you eat this bread and drink this cup, you proclaim the Lord’s death until He comes.  Therefore, whoever eats the bread or drinks the cup of the Lord in an unworthy manner will be guilty of sinning against the body  and blood of the Lord.  A man ought to examine himself before he eats of the bread and drinks of the cup.  For anyone who eats and drinks without recognizing the body of the Lord eats and drinks judgment on himself.”  1 Corinthians 11: 23-29

In the USA, Memorial Day is a day we set aside to remember those who died to give us freedom.  It is mainly to honor military members that died on the field of battle.  Don’t get me wrong, I am thankful for all the freedoms that have been given and protected for me here in the USA.  However, when I think of true freedom I remember Jesus and the life He gave on the cross.

On the night He was betrayed Jesus gave us The Lord’s supper or communion.  He told us to take the bread and the cup in order to remember Him and to proclaim His death until He returns.  Communion is much more than a mere ceremony or religious rite.  The meal is a celebration and a real experience of our connection with Him and one another.  It is much more than a thimble of juice and a tiny cracker. It is best as an entire meal.  To me it is like an upper room experience and I just love it.

Taking part in The Lord’s supper is a serious deal.  We are supposed to examine ourselves before we partake of the bread and cup.  Because if we take the elements in an unworthy manner we sin against The Lord and if we don’t recognize the body we drink judgment on ourselves.  I do not claim to be a grand theologian and the commentaries may lead you elsewhere, but I do believe that recognizing the body of the Lord is the key here.  Christ is not divided and His body is one and we ought to view it in that way at all times, but especially during communion.  There should be no contending for our own theological biases such as I follow Paul or I follow Apollos.  The communion table should be free and open to all regardless of their theological stripes.  When I approach His table I come only as a Christ follower and not as a Lutheran, Baptist, Mennonite, housechurcher or whatever.  During this time I see and accept all as my sisters and brothers in Christ, even those still trapped in Babylon.  The Lord’s supper is a time to remember Jesus and to come together as one body in true unity and love.  When at His table I will refuse to get into petty theological differences and instead I will embrace The Oneness of The Body of Christ.  

There are times that we do indeed need to work through theological differences and contend over matters of faith.  However, that time is not during His love feast.  At the proper time I will take aside those who I differ with and we will vigorously discuss our different points of view concerning the faith.  At times even entire gatherings can be to openly dialog concerning such things.  Just not during the time we are sharing The Lord’s table.  Jesus is The Head and we are His body and I want to honor that all the days of my life. 

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

p.s. Give me the full meal deal !

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Hi Chris,
    You say: ” It is much more than a thimble of juice and a tiny cracker. It is best as an entire meal. To me it is like an upper room experience and I just love it.”

    I do differ from you because of my own experience, supported by the way I read Paul in that section where he says “Wherefore, my brethren, when ye come together to eat, tarry one for another. And if any man hunger, let him eat at home; that ye come not together unto condemnation. And the rest will I set in order when I come.” It seems that the way he preferred was to take the bread and the wine as a separate ceremony even without a common meal.

    Jesus also says this which is rather a difficult one for us to accept, but he did say it:

    “Then said he also to him that bade him, When thou makest a dinner or a supper, call not thy friends, nor thy brethren, neither thy kinsmen, nor thy rich neighbours; lest they also bid thee again, and a recompence be made thee. But when thou makest a feast, call the poor, the maimed, the lame, the blind: And thou shalt be blessed; for they cannot recompense thee: for thou shalt be recompensed at the resurrection of the just.”

    That take the guilt off the gingerbread but He surely meant it. It can’t mean that we are not allowed to have a meal with our friends but it may not be such a good idea to mix it with the commemoration of the Lord’s Supper. Some have the Communion Service first then meet afterward for a ‘bring and pool it’ supper. That somehow seems more appropriate.

    Jessop.
    ~~~~~~~~

  2. "BK" Zimmer permalink

    I see it a little differently than either of you, although I certainly don’t disregard your perception. Jesus told them they would not drink again until they drank it new ‘in the kingdom’. That drinking is pretty obvious on the day of Pentecost when the disciples were ‘drunk on new wine’. I Cor 10 tells us the bread we break and cup we drink is the ‘communion [some translations use fellowship] of the body of Christ.’ We drink His Spirit and we eat His Word [rhema, not logos] and we commune. When we ‘wait on one another’ and ‘discern the body’, we are giving space for and recognizing the sharing of each part. To me this is true communion. Just my thoughts, “BK”

Leave a Reply

