Skip to content

Perfect?

May 26, 2012

Greetings,

Jesus said:

“You have heard that it was said, ‘Love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’  But I tell you:  Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, that you may be sons of your Father in heaven.  He causes His sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous.  If you love those who love you, what reward will you get?  Are not even the tax collectors doing that?  And if you greet only your brothers, what are you doing more than others?  Do not even pagans do that?  Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect.”  Matthew 5: 43-48

Jesus definitely holds His followers to a standard higher than the status quo.  He calls us to love even our enemies.  He is love and He is the standard.  Jesus even makes loving enemies and praying for those who persecute us a condition of being one of The Father’s sons.  

Jesus calls us to love the unlovable.  To reach out to those who might oppose us.  It does not matter how we are treated by others.  It is all about treating others as Jesus would treat them.  Loving those who love us is easy.  Extending ourselves to benefit others is our high call.  We need to live better lives than the pagans do because of the life and love He has given us so freely.

Finally Jesus calls us to be “perfect”.  It sounds impossible because it really is.  The Greek word translated as “perfect” here actually means whole, complete and mature.  And those things are possible in this life, but only because Jesus grants us those things by abiding in Him.  If we are truly whole then it is possible to love the unlovely because then we can give out of our abundance and not our lack.  If we are complete then we lack nothing and can give all to those who have need.  If we are mature then we can look beyond both our own shortcomings and the shortcomings of those we are seeking to serve.

Jesus extended Himself to the point of death on a cross.  Now He is calling us to extend ourselves to others in the same manner.  Because Jesus said, “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.  For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for Me will save it.  Luke 9: 23-24

Yes, Jesus has given us a very high call.  A call that can only be accomplished by abiding in Him.  Apart from Him we can do nothing, but in Him our potential to love and be loved is unlimited.  Today I choose to follow Him and love others regardless of my comfort level.

Love and……

Kirk Out !

p.s.  Thanks for all the prayers.  By choosing to press into more of Him and to focus on loving others, my flashbacks have been greatly minimized.  This whole love others as you love yourself thing really does work.

 
From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Reformed by the Holy Spirit permalink

    I wish I could do it…..I just can’t….I am the opposite of perfect….I am flawed. If it were not for the Grace of Jesus and his Mercy, I would be lost.

  2. I hear you Doug, same goes for me.

  3. Chris,
    Thank you for the daily reminders of who I am and why I am here. I was lost.I was found. He loves me. i belong. I pray for those who are still lost.

Leave a Reply

