Skip to content

Gifts For Everyone?

May 22, 2012

Greetings,

“Now you are the body of Christ, and each one of you is a part of it.  And in the church God has appointed first of all apostles, second prophets, third teachers, then workers of miracles, also those having gifts of healing, those able to help others, those with gifts of administration, and those speaking in different kinds of tongues.  Are all apostles?  Are all prophets?  Are all teachers?  Do all work miracles?  Do all have gifts of healing?  Do all speak in tongues?  Do all interpret?  But eagerly desire the greater gifts.  And now I will show you the most excellent way.”  1 Corinthians 12: 27-30

Today I am just full of questions.  Like why can’t the answer to the seven questions listed above be YES? Why does everyone automatically assume that the answer to these questions is no?  Especially when Paul usually asks a question with the answer being no, he normally spells it right out…..like “shall we continue sinning so that grace may abound?”   The answer is, “by no means.”  Paul never comes right out and says that the answer to these seven questions above is no and I find it interesting that he doesn’t.

Think about it?  Are all apostles?  Yes, anyone can be sent by God to do a certain task.  Are all prophets?  Yes, anyone can give a prophecy.  Are all teachers?  Yes, I believe that anyone can teach someone else about something they know in Christ.  Do all work miracles?  Yes, the Spirit can move in anyone to perform a miracle of sorts.  Do all have gifts of healing?  Yes, any believer can lay hands on someone and they can be healed.  Do all speak in tongues?  Yes, I believe anyone can speak in tongues as the Spirit enables them.  Is this list of gifts totally exclusive or is it possible that it is really totally inclusive?  I have witnessed these gifts being used by a multitude of different people over the years and with excellent results.  The truth is that with God all things are possible and HE can use anyone of us at any time He desires for anything He desires.  Now, I agree that some folks tend to walk in these various gifts more often than some others, but that does not mean that the rest of the body can’t flow that way at times also.  Again the question is are these gifts exclusive, just for a chosen few, or are they inclusive and available to the whole body at any given moment as HE sees fit?  After all WE are the body of Christ and “EACH one of you is a part of it”

Anyway, it is the “greater gifts” that we should be desiring after all.  According to the passage that follows this one those greater gifts are Faith, Hope and Love, with Love being the greatest.  Remember I am just asking questions here today, but I feel they are questions worth asking and investigating,   Thanks for allowing me to think out loud today, and remember none of what I suggest is set in stone.  However, I speak from over 30 years of experiencing the gifts in a relational housechurch setting.  I have witnessed all of the gifts in operation at various times without title, special recognition, or pay.  When we gather together relationally these gifts just flow in simple ways without fanfare for the good of the entire body.  I do not deny the gifts, but I give them room to operate in all the members of the body as HE sees fit.  It is not a big deal, but rather something I see as a normal part of everyday fellowship.  I know my thinking is outside of the box, but this is church the way I have lived and experienced it.

Love and …..

Kirk Out !

From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. Martin permalink

    I believe that the thing you desire most , in your heart, is conversation that flows between two or more people. What you, however, seem to think is that you need to quote verses of the ancients to prove that this is the best way to go, or , rather, the right way to go. It’s neither. What matters is you progress, heal and learn the language of love. Quote the ancients, by all means, but don’t restrict yourself to this style as if it were the only way to find how to have it flow naturally.

  2. I use the bible because I find inspiration in it. Some folks think I use it wrong, others think I use it too much, still others not enough. All I can do is be honest and share what HE lays on my heart. After that it is all up to Him.

  3. timbushong permalink

    To be an apostle one had to be an eyewitness of the resurrected Jesus.

    • are you kidding? this is the most ridiculous thing I have hear (possibly) 1. you deffinatley have to go to church 2.you are a KJV guy and probably belivie it is the ifnfalible word of God…tim…this is regurigitated garbage…i can could shout it from a rough top with a bull horn and I think my stiff rebukie of this lie would not be loud enough….
      The purpose of this blog is to establish that the newtestament body is made up of members of equality w/ non being above the other..and that no one should take the Headship of Chirst away. This is the teachings of the nicolations..and the modern church…tim…tim…

  4. Some of the English translators have nabbed us, Chris, by rewriting “Not all are apostles. Not all are prophets. Not all are teachers. Not all have powers. Not all have the graces of healing. Not all are speaking languages. Not all are interpreting.” as a series of questions, rather than as statements. Affirming that no all are _______, is the phrase “to another” that repeats several times within the first part of I Corinthians chapter 12.

  5. The giftings of God’s grace were not given to establish a pecking order among the saints of God, but rather they are an empowering by the Spirit of God with which to edify one another. As such, I too, have seen them moving in the different members at different times, including myself. When the love of God is the motivation, one seeks to serve and not to lord over the saints of God. He willingly takes the lowest place among the body of Christ an washes feet just as Jesus did. As Paul grew in Christ his title morfed from “apostle” to “the least of the saints of God” to “the Chief of Sinners.” So it should be with us, not the other way around. We must decrease and Christ must increase.

  6. Chris this is interpretation of what was written in the scriptures is from the Holy Spirit. It is one of the biggest messages going around the world to those who will hear it…love it Chris…the devil know that he could not stop the followers of the Way so he got up all in…and the translation of it into what we call the bible, he knew if he could get followers of christ to be building focused w/ people in leadership the power would be cutoffr because Christ would no longer be the head…and yes He will use us all in these gifts according to who we are ministering to and what they need and what what God wants to give them through you…sometimes it’s healing, sometimes it is a word of encouragement, and sometimes it is just confermation….it is really not complicated to the spiritual mind it is where the supernatural is natural…love bro

  7. Martin permalink

    I am a Walrus… Because this holy book tells me so. I am a Walrus, and he who thinks I am from the devil. Why, I say? Because the holy book tells me so. I am a Walrus, so the song goes, because the holy book tells me so. He- the BIG Walrus gives me gifts, because the holy book tells me so. He- the big Walrus- exists cause the Holy book tells me so. Oh, not to mention the HOLY Walrus- as mentioned in the holy book- tells me I’m a Walrus.

    signed,
    Wal.

  8. Martin permalink

    Wait. the other comment above was from the devil, cause the devil told me to post without editing…. Here’s the proper- holy- one..,.

    I am a Walrus… Because this holy book tells me so. I am a Walrus, and he who thinks I am not is from from the devil. Why, I say? Because the holy book tells me that he is from the devil. I am a Walrus, so the song goes, because the holy book tells me so. He- the BIG Walrus- gives me gifts of the spirit , because the holy book tells me so. He- the big Walrus- exists cause the Holy book tells me so. Oh, not to mention the HOLY Walrus- as mentioned in the holy book- tells me I’m a Walrus.

    signed,
    Wal.

Leave a Reply

