Skip to content

Impossible?

March 29, 2012

Greetings,

“Jesus looked at them and said, with man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.”…………Matthew 19: 26

In housechurch fellowship this past weekend we read through the entire fifth chapter of The Gospel of John. (Yes, we use our bibles all the time, contrary to popular belief)   Everyone had something to share that helped the passage come alive to us.  What struck me was how Jesus asked people to do the impossible.  In John 5: 8  Jesus told an invalid to “Get up!  Pick up your mat and walk.”  Jesus simply asked this man to do what he could not do and when the man responded he could walk.

There are quite a few other instances of Jesus asking the impossible of people in the New Testament.  Like when He told the man with the withered arm to stretch out his arm and when He told Peter to “come” walk on the water to Him.  If your arm is withered you cannot stretch it out and no man can walk on water.  However, when Jesus told them to do these impossible things they could every time.

If this is true then why do we always seem to doubt when Jesus seems to be calling for us to do the impossible?  Speaking for myself I think it is because I lack FAITH at times.  I get so engrossed in the FACT of the obstacle I am facing that I fail to have the faith for Him to move it, so that I can proceed where He wants me to go.

The fact that I had PTSD hindered my walk for 13 years, but now I have faith to overcome it.  Staying in the fact of my situation and diagnosis robbed me, my family and our fellowships of many blessings, and in the end it cost me my marriage.  But now forgetting what is behind I strain towards what is ahead for me in Jesus.  I now have renewed faith and hope again because of Him and the tools I gained from EMDR.

“We live by faith, not by sight” (2 Corinthians 5: 7)  I no longer live by what my eyes can see.  Now, once again I live by faith and that is making all the difference.  And if you do happen to lack faith all you have to do is ask Him and He will give it to you when the time is right.  I now am facing my obstacles head on and with His help I am moving through them, instead of trying to go over, under, or around them.  Avoiding them is no longer an option for me. No matter what odds you are facing Jesus can get you through it.  Now with God I am doing the impossible and so can you!

Love and……

Kirk Out !

 
From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Deanna Troi permalink

    More commentary about Bibles, Captain?

  2. Yes, but good inclusive commentary. ;)-

Leave a Reply

