Skip to content

Following Him Along The Way

February 28, 2012

Greetings,

“Now listen, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to this or to that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.”  Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow.  What is your life?  You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.  Instead, you ought to say, “If it is the Lord’s will we will live and do this or that.”  As it is, you boast and brag.  All such boasting is evil.  Anyone, then who knows the good he ought to do and doesn’t do it, sins.”                 James 4: 13-17

This passage is just packed with excellent and difficult admonishments.  Like don’t tell God what you are going to do and just do it.  No check with God first to see if it is His will, or your will, to do whatever needs to be done.   There are so many things we do in our lives that we do without any guidance or approval from The Lord, but that is not the way that it is supposed to be.  This begs the question,,,,are we supposed to do ANYTHING by mere rote and habit?  I don’t think so!  God should be sought and allowed to interfere in ALL of our affairs.  Many times while driving I pray for God to lead me in ALL of my day, and there have been several times (if not more) when HE told me directly to take another route.  Only later to find out that my normal route would have had me in the location of a major accident.  Better yet, on the new route He led me to I have had amazing things happen, including folks getting rides and getting saved.  

What does this passage speak concerning our “worship services”?  Should we really start at 11 am Sunday, pray, sing 3 songs, take up an offering, sing some more, hear a sermon and close with another song and a prayer???????  Week after week, year after year, decade after decade?  It is my assertion that being locked into that type of, or similar, pattern is just not God’s will.  Do we care about that?  Shouldn’t we rather seek God continually and then allow His will to invade and move us in the way HE desires us to go?  Even relational housechurches get into ruts like this, and I don’t think He is pleased about that at all.  Knowing what we are going to always do ahead of time I suggest is not a blessing, but rather a curse.  We need to be free in Him and allow His Spirit to lead us in all things.

Then there is that last verse…If we know what is good and we don’t do it…we sin.  Yikes!  This tells me that I really need Jesus; because I sin often according to this verse.  But who doesn’t?  Specifically, I know that it is good for me to check with Him before I do anything on my own and if I don’t, I boast, brag and sin.  Beyond that whenever He puts me in a situation to do something good for someone, and I don’t do it.  I sin.  Sin, sin, sin……..  What are we supposed to do?  It is simple really, surrender to Him in all things and allow Him to correct us on the fly along the way.  Nothing should be set in stone.  We should always check with Him concerning everything we do.  He is The Lord and we need to be following His will and not our own.

Love and……

Kirk Out !

P.s. To Clarify, all it is really about is BEing in Him and allowing Him to flow through you.  That takes a surrender, but BEing in Him is a joy and not a burden.  If you feel burdened in your walk with Him, then it is time to re-evaluate everything; starting with your relationship with Him.

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Are you suggesting that spontaneity is somehow more Spirit-led than prescribed order?

  2. Yes Tim I am, that is my experience, but it all depends on who prescribes the order, is it God or man? “The wind blows where it wants to” I think the Spirit should always be allowed to move how it wants to among and within us. If we follow a certain order is God allowed to interupt and change our direction on the fly? If we are so hardwired to our traditions of gathering and worshipping that it inhibits the Spirits flow then we should yield and get out of His way.

  3. Amen to that, my brother!

    Paul said of Jesus, “In HIM we live and move and have our BEING.” We are called first and foremost to be human-Beings, not human-doings. Religion drives us always to DO, regardless of our state of Being. If our being is HIS Being, then whatever we ask it will be given unto us. If it is not and we set out to do something simply because we read about it in the Bible or heard it preached from a pulpit or from some other worldly source of inspiration, we might hear those fateful words some day, “Depart from me, you who work iniquity, I never KNEW you”

    A good tree cannot bring forth evil fruit, neither can a corrupt tree bring forth good fruit. Every tree that brings not forth good fruit is hewn down, and cast into the fire. Therefore by their fruits you shall know them. Not every one that says unto me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that does the will of my Father who is in heaven. Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in your name? and in your name have cast out demons? and in your name done many wonderful works? And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you: depart from me, you that work iniquity. (Matthew 7:18-23 KJ2000)

  4. Chris, I’ve come to the conclusion that the only one who really did God’s will was Christ. I took these things to such an extreme that every single thing I did I wondered was it God’s will.
    Which supermarket should I go to because maybe He was leading me to a particular person. An elderly woman who was a widow just about drove me crazy. I developed such a resentment towards her because if she needed me I was afraid of saying no, it might be God.
    And the anxiety it created if I decided not to do something that might’ve been His will. If then something bad happened I was being punished or rather the kinder term, chastised.
    I finally stopped and decided if I’m in Christ then that alone puts me in the perfect will of God no matter what I’m doing or where I go.
    In terms of church routine and regulations I agree with you completely but after letting go and just living trusting I’m in Him and He’s in me and He did for me and us what we couldn’t has freed me to do more not less.
    I want to visit with an eldery woman now because I know it’s my choice and they’ll be no repercussions if I don’t.
    Hope I’m making some sense.

  5. Kim, I think I hear you making sense. It is like BK says…In Him no longer do we HAVE to do whatever, but instead we GET to do because of Him and what He has done in our lives.

  6. timbushong permalink

    Couple thoughts:

    ““The wind blows where it wants to” I think the Spirit should always be allowed to move how it wants to among and within us.”

    The context of that verse is clearly soteriological- Christ is speaking about the new birth, and not about how Xians should be ‘led’.

    “If we follow a certain order is God allowed to interupt and change our direction on the fly?”

    That’s a loaded question (like “Have you stopped beating your wife?”), since it already presupposes that the order wasn’t ordained by God in the 1st place- it’s an assumption that has to be demonstrated, not merely asserted.

    “If we are so hardwired to our traditions of gathering and worshipping that it inhibits the Spirits flow then we should yield and get out of His way.”

    Sure- traditions can be a hindrance- and it all depends on how one views the assembly of the saints, and what it is intended to be. Plus, there’s the unspoken assumption regarding how the Spirit flows. I mean, I could just as easily say that every Lord’s Day the Spirit flows through the “higher church” liturgy that we practice, and that statement would be just as meaningful and true.

    I had a friend visit recently, and after he told me that he’d never before been in a worship service like ours, he added that “what I’m used to doing on a Sunday IS my ‘tradition’, and what you’re doing is my novelty!”

Leave a Reply

