Skip to content

One King

February 26, 2012

Greetings,

“So all the elders of Israel gathered together and came to Samuel at Ramah.  They said to him, “You are old, and your sons do not walk in your ways; now appoint a king to lead us, such as all the other nations have.”  But when they said, “Give us a king to lead us,” this displeased Samuel; so he prayed to the Lord.  And the Lord told him: “Listen to all that the people are saying to you; it is not you they have rejected, but they have rejected Me as their king.  As they have done from the day I brought them up out of Egypt until this day, forsaking Me and serving other gods, so they are doing to you.  Now listen to them; but warn them solemnly and let them know what the king who will reign over them will do.”  1 Samuel 8: 4-9

So Samuel told all the words of the Lord to the people who were asking for a king.  Samuel then basically said that the king they desired would take advantage of them, using up their sons and daughters, taking a tenth (a tithe) of their crops and flocks, and eventually making all of them slaves to the king. 1 Samuel 8: 10-17  (My paraphrase)

“When that day comes , you will cry out for relief from the king you have chosen, and the Lord will not answer you in that day.”  But the people refused to listen to Samuel.  “No!” they said. “We want a king over us.  Then we will be like all the other nations, with a king to lead us and to go out before us and fight our battles.”  When Samuel heard all that the people said, he repeated it before the Lord.  The Lord answered, “Listen to them and give them a king.”  1 Samuel 8: 18-22

Any of this sound familiar?  Because I sure see a modern parallel in the church today.  The Lord has always wanted to be the one true King and Leader of His children/church, but most of the time He is rejected and instead the church wants a human King/Leader/Pope or Pastor.  I see this happen all the time, even in relational housechurches that are supposed to be about the Priesthood of all believers under only Jesus the King of Kings.  I believe that most people give in to “needing” a human leader because they get tired of the responsibility of hearing God for themselves.  Being a Spirit led follower of Jesus is not an easy task.  It takes discipline and a continual surrender and death to self.  It takes trading our ways for HIS way.    However, when the rubber hits the road many times we would rather have someone tell us the right thing to do, instead of trusting the voice of The Spirit to lead us in ALL things.

People want or think they need a Pastor because they want to be like all the other Pastor led Christians out there.  They want the so called safety net of being under a human leader because they doubt their own ability to hear God for themselves.  Who hasn’t been there?  It is understandable to want to be like all the other “regular” church goers out there. Instead of being an outcast Jesus freak. Problem is that God Himself has called all of us to be under only HIS rule and authority.  HE has made it abundantly clear that HE wants to be our ONLY Leader/King/Shepherd and HE has warned us to avoid being UNDER a human Pastor/Leader/King.  To serve a human Pastor is to reject Jesus as The Good Shepherd and King of our hearts.   Will God allow us to follow others instead of Him?  Sure, because He is not a dictator and He has given us the great gift of free will.  However, what will following someone other than Him cost us?  Only our sons, daughters, crops, livestock and our freedom.  To follow and serve someone other than Jesus will cost us everything in this life.  To me following someone other than Jesus is to become a slave to Babylon and its programs and systems.  

Strong words?  They certainly are, but are they true?  I have spoken my peace and I refuse to judge others for the choices they make in these matters, but I will warn them.  My final word on this:  Follow Jesus !

Love and……

Kirk Out !

 
From → Uncategorized

18 Comments
  1. WHAT A SWAP! The traded the God of all creation as their king for a herder of asses (see 1 Samuel ch. 9) to lead them and be their king! Well, he treated them and abused them like a bunch of asses as a result. God allowed this so that they would see the error of their ways in choosing a man to rule over them instead of God. The same thing happens today when men put other men in the place that only belongs to the ONE Good Shepherd, Jesus Christ. Eventually they reap what they have sown… that man starts driving them and demanding of them like the task masters of Pharaoh, “More bricks, more bricks! Go get your own straw!” It takes this mistreatment for most of us to open our eyes to the folly of putting men in the place of Christ in His church.

    The trees went forth once to anoint a king over them; and they said unto the olive tree, Reign you over us. But the olive tree said unto them, Should I leave my fatness, with which by me they honor God and man, and go to be promoted over the trees? And the trees said to the fig tree, Come you, and reign over us. But the fig tree said unto them, Should I forsake my sweetness, and my good fruit, and go to be promoted over the trees? Then said the trees unto the vine, Come you, and reign over us. And the vine said unto them, Should I leave my wine, which cheers God and man, and go to be promoted over the trees? Then said all the trees unto the bramble, Come you, and reign over us. And the bramble said unto the trees, If in truth you anoint me king over you, then come and put your trust in my shadow: and if not, let fire come out of the bramble, and devour the cedars of Lebanon. (Judges 9:8-15 KJ2000)

    “When will they ever learn? When will they eeeeeeever learn?”

    • "BK" Zimmer permalink

      Years ago, when I was still churched, I spoke with the pastor of the church where my father went regarding these very things. He said he realized it and was praying about leaving the organization he was with. My husband’s job changed to the city they lived, so we moved and I began attending his church based on what he said. Soon after I called to speak with him and his wife said he was gone for a few days fasting. It seems the organization had offered him $5000 to finish the remodel of the church building if he would stay with them and ‘get rid of that piano player’…yeah, that would be me. Distressed, I called out to the Lord, “What if he stays??? What do I do???”. He answered very clearly, “Be a Daniel in Babylon. Daniel worked side by side with the king, did everything he could to bless them…..unless it transgressed his walk with Me.” Well, I never had to make that decision because the Lord gave him the verses you mention in Judges….and he saw loud and clear the message, and resigned. Thanks for the memory! “BK”

      • BK,

        It was good to hear from you again. You are welcome, my dear sister. I am glad that you are remaining free in the Son as one of HIS trees of righteousness, the planting of the Lord.

        Michael

      • "BK" Zimmer permalink

        Thanks, Michael. So good to cross paths with you once again. You are not unthought of….Much love in Him, “BK”

  2. Brian permalink

    Christ is the Great Shepherd, but if we are to remove from us any spiritual ‘cover’ what do you do with the New Testament references of Jesus Himself setting up spiritual leaders over His Church.

    Matthew 11:41; Luke 6:13; Acts 2:42, 13:1-3, 15:1-35; 1 Corinthians 12:1-11, 27-31; Ephesians 2:19-22, 4:1-16; James 5:13,14.

    When the spiritual authority placed over us is submitted to the Lordship of Christ, it will only be able to reflect the Head of the Church. Yes, any leader can fail, just like King Saul and King David. The difference was their individual response when the Prophet chastised them. One responded in pride, the other in humility.

    To walk alone without a spiritual authority over you is not logical Captain.

    I assume that since you sign your posts, “Captain Kirk'” you are a fan of Star Trek. Did not Captain Kirk have Star Fleet ‘over’ him with various Admirals giving him orders, but ultimately responsible to the President of Star Fleet? And did not Captain Kirk himself set up department heads who carried Kirk’s vision of leadership to the rest of the ship?

    What makes the difference in those that Christ calls into leadership over various parts of His body are their core values. If they are not His values, they will not carry or declare His vision for His body. So, if you do not agree with that one leader, find one that will properly reflect Christ. Paul says in 1 Corinthians 11:1, “…follow me as I follow Christ.”

    Brian

    • "BK" Zimmer permalink

      Hi, Brian. I looked up the references you gave (except for Matt 11:41…you must have meant a different verse here) and have to honestly say I don’t see one instance in any of them that they were ‘over’ His church. We don’t walk alone without spiritual authority ‘over’ us when Christ is our authority. Wherever He appears, in whomever He appears, we submit to Him. Even when I did ‘pastor’ in the conventional sense of the word (I like to think I was at least a ‘good’ king, grin), I used that verse in I Cor 11…..and also told them ‘if you don’t find Christ in what I say or do or advise, then follow HIM.’ Just some thoughts as I read the verses you gave. “BK”

  3. zip permalink

    I goto a conventional Chruch and we have a pastor. He, unlike what you say, follows Jesus, I do not follow him (the pastor), but goto him for prayer and guidence. He has (like you) a education on christianity and a wealth of knowledge. All can and do participate, if they wish to. I myself have been moved to share and got up in front of 300+ and took the mike away and spoke my piece. We are all called to be Priests.

    I also understand where you come from with all the lobbed together church bashing. I have seen it myself and still cannot put all of them into the same basket.

    I can take it further by saying that you want us to follow you. You want all to read this blog and follow it, is that not true? Who is the Leader, King, Pastor of this blog? Do you understand where I come from?

    I Love you, because you are my cousin and my brother in Christ! I just ask to not group me into a collection of people who do not know the One true King! It just gets under my skin, because for someone who was abused to abuse me is kind of strange! And you do it repeatedly.

    You say that you refuse to judge people, but read your words “People want or think they need a Pastor because they want to be like all the other Pastor led Christians out there.” That is judgemental!

    Praying for you always,

    Zip

  4. Zip, I appreciate you and the passion in which you share. It is wonderful that you have found a church that is so free and open and that you do not follow your pastor, but Jesus. If my words do not apply to you or your situation then do not take them personally. I am making observations, not judgements. I do not want anyone to follow me, I want them to follow Jesus, but as Brian said
    “Follow me as I follow Christ” as Paul wrote. I love to follow good followers and I hope that I am such a follower that others would appreciate my example too. Following a Christ follower is not the same as following a Leader, anyway I appreciate the comments whether we agree or not, by having a open discussion we can all work our way more towards the truth in love and HIS balance.
    LOve, Chris

  5. Briah wrote:

    “Christ is the Great Shepherd, but if we are to remove from us any spiritual ‘cover’ what do you do with the New Testament references of Jesus Himself setting up spiritual leaders over His Church.
    Matthew 11:41; Luke 6:13; Acts 2:42, 13:1-3, 15:1-35; 1 Corinthians 12:1-11, 27-31; Ephesians 2:19-22, 4:1-16; James 5:13,14.”

    Here is the problem I have with the human head “covering” doctrine:

    “But I want you to understand that the head of every man is Christ, the head of a woman is her husband, and the head of Christ is God. Any man who prays or prophesies with his head covered dishonors his head.” (1 Corinthians 11:3-4 RSVA)

    And He has put all things under His [Christ’s] feet and has appointed Him the universal and supreme Head of the church [a headship exercised throughout the church], Which is His body, the fullness of Him Who fills all in all [for in that body lives the full measure of Him Who makes everything complete, and Who fills everything everywhere with Himself]. (Ephesians 1:22-23 AMP)

    We are to have no man as our “head” or “covering.” That place belongs to Jesus alone. Only He has bought us and that with a terrible price.

    It is a very carnal belief system that looks to men as their be all and end all when it comes to leadership. Paul addressed this sin in his letter to the Corinthians…

    But I, brethren, could not address you as spiritual men, but as men of the flesh, as babes in Christ. I fed you with milk, not solid food; for you were not ready for it; and even yet you are not ready, for you are still of the flesh. For while there is jealousy and strife among you, are you not of the flesh, and behaving like ordinary men? For when one says, “I belong to Paul,” and another, “I belong to Apol’los,” are you not merely men? What then is Apol’los? What is Paul? Servants through whom you believed, as the Lord assigned to each. I planted, Apol’los watered, but God gave the growth. So neither he who plants nor he who waters is anything, but only God who gives the growth… According to the grace of God given to me, like a skilled master builder I laid a foundation, and another man is building upon it. Let each man take care how he builds upon it. For no other foundation can any one lay than that which is laid, which is Jesus Christ… So let no one boast of men. For all things are yours, whether Paul or Apol’los or Cephas or the world or life or death or the present or the future, all are yours; and you are Christ’s; and Christ is God’s. (1 Corinthians 3:1-23 RSVA)

    As for the Church being built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets as if THEY are that foundation…

    According to the grace of God given to me, like a skilled master builder I laid a foundation, and another man is building upon it. Let each man take care how he builds upon it. For no other foundation can any one lay than that which is laid, which is Jesus Christ.
    (1 Corinthians 3:10-11 RSVA)

    Therefore thus saith the Lord GOD, Behold, I lay in Zion for a foundation a stone, a tried stone, a precious corner [stone], a sure foundation: he that believeth shall not make haste.
    (Isaiah 28:16 KJV)

    Apostles and prophets only lay the Foundation of Christ in our lives, they do not take His place as the foundation of the church unless they are FALSE apostles and prophets. This mentality is a carry-over from the papal system that usurped Christ as the Head of the Church.

    For just as the body is one and has many members, and all the members of the body, though many, are one body, so it is with Christ. For by one Spirit we were all baptized into one body–Jews or Greeks, slaves or free–and all were made to drink of one Spirit. For the body does not consist of one member but of many. (1 Corinthians 12:12-14 RSVA)

    Part of this whole human hierarchical structure myth in the church stems from the very poor translation of the Bible called the KJV. For instance the word “office” wherever it appears in the N. T. translation is a total fabrication that is not found in the original Greek except were it refers to the O. T. priesthood. The king and his bishops translated hierarchy into the text wherever possible to maintain control over the people under them in the British Empire.

    I labored under these men for years that claimed these honorific (five fold) titles to themselves and I would have seen the truth of the above passages sooner if I had not had my eye on one of those “offices” as well. Pride is a terribly blinding thing.

    By the way, Matthew 11:41 – does not exist.

    Michael

  6. Thanks Michael! I too believe that only Jesus is our covering.

    • The term spiritual covering when speaking of any man or woman makes me shudder. Jesus more than covers us, we’re one with Him and the Father. I don’t see how it’s possible not to place a pastor in an elevated position when one is convinced that man has access to God that you lack.
      This hinders our relationship not in reality but in our mind to God.
      I don’t think any of these practices or rituals turns God from us but so much of this walk is in how we think.
      Since leaving church and becoming aware of the thousands of differing doctrines, how or why would we ever put revelation for us in the hands of one man.
      Each has his own agenda, and his agenda is what we’ll hear.
      I found it too ridiculous to believe each week God had given a particular message to one man for an entire church.
      I remember hearing sermons where we were told the message was intended for everyone there. I’d know it wasn’t meant for me and likely many others, however the brainwashing caused me to search everywhere in my life to find the meaning for me that wasn’t there.
      God lives in us and speaks to each individual heart.
      There are thousands of denominations each claiming there’s is truth. Each pastor is likely preaching the bible through the lens of his denomination and won’t generally contradict whatever the particular mission and faith statement is.
      There’s no room for revelation because they’ve got it all wrapped up.
      If a pastor has a revelation that tithing is no longer, he’s not likely to preach on it.
      What I told friends when I finally left church was that I wouldn’t be going anywhere were it not for the sermon. The fellowship before and after, the participation in bible study and the music I hated leaving, but the sermon I couldn’t take which made their head spin because they see the sermon as “church”.

      • "BK" Zimmer permalink

        Hi, Kim. This reminds me of when our precious sister, Megumi, came from Japan, still a practicing Buddhist. She sat through our gathering and the next day started asking questions.
        “BK, in Japan, when one becomes a Christian they go to the temple and the priest tells them what the god is saying. Then they go home and the next week on the same day they to to the temple and the man tells them what the god is saying…. but it’s not like that here. Here everyone spoke, everyone listened. And, when one spoke a force went from them to the one speaking; and the next one spoke and the force went from them. What was that???”
        I’ll just never forget that! A Buddhist watching the Spirit of God flow from one member to the next. So, I was thrilled to let her know that may be how Christians do it, but it is not what the God wants them to do. He wants them to all share and let His life flow through them to each other. Well, today she’s one of the biggest lovers of Jesus one could know! 🙂 “BK”

  7. Welcome back Kim. I have missed your portion. Thanks for sharing again! Love, Chris

    • Thanks Chris, I’ve not been online much at all, everything’s good, just life things happening so I just haven’t had the time.

  8. Yes, Kim, “There is ONE Mediator between God and man, the Lord Jesus Christ.” Funny how religious people can not grasp that. I guess that I didn’t fully grasp it either until God kill the spirit of religion in me with fourteen years of spiritual wilderness. Now I know Jesus as my All in all and my spiritual sufficiency. Jesus is enough!

  9. "BK" Zimmer permalink

    There is so much truth in the comments here, pro and con. Discussion is what is healthy because ‘every man’s ways are right in his own eyes and his neighbor comes and searches them out’. Healthy, very healthy….and gives one a chance for clarification of what they meant to say or how they meant to come acrosse….and, yes, be corrected.

    I did a study years ago on this subject. Specifically as I was reading I Sam 8 and had my heart so very convicted. Not by what I read in a book or someone told me, but straight from the Lord. I have included it below. I apologize for it’s length, but I believe Chris is right on in his heart for wanting people to realize the fallacy of the Nicolaitan system of Christianity. It’s good to keep him clarifying from time to time the across the board statements he makes he knows doesn’t apply to every person. But, it does apply to the system they are captive in. So, for those who read loooooooong posts, here are my notes and comments from that time of my life…..”BK”

    I Sam. 8:1-22

    It appears here that as Samuel ages, he makes the same mistake many person does…instead of seeking the Lord, he ‘passes his mantle’ on to his sons.

    (3) Problem is, his sons didn’t share his heart for the Lord and therefore abused the authority put in their unjust hands.

    (4) The people see this and instead of seeking the Lord, they gather to Samuel in Ramah when they asked for their king. If you run the reference for Ramah in Strongs you will find it means the “feminine actively participating as a height (a seat of idolatry)”. It goes on to include, “to delude or betray (as if causing to fall)” (#’s 7414, 7413,7411) David says in Psalms, ‘my soul makes her boast in the Lord’ so I conclude this is soulish working, apart from the Lord, but according to the natural mind, will and emotion from the poor judging his sons are doing.

    (5) The people feared to go on with having judges as God raised them up. They wanted “stability”, “assurance” they’d keep a righteous judge (ruler) over them. “Someone has to be in charge…” Sound familiar??? Instead of seeking God for the remedy of who He would have to rise up when Samuel died, they wanted to decide for themselves and have someone over them like the world around them.

    (6) I can’t help but wonder how different things may have been had Samuel sought the Lord BEFORE he set his sons in as judges. (?)

    (7) And so God tells Samuel it’s not you they have rejected, “but they have rejected ME from being King over them.”

    (8) God likens this request to forsaking Him and serving other gods, just like they had done all along when things got tough, ever since they left Egypt. Same old story, but this time instead of building their own ‘god’ they chose one in human form…..a king.

    (9-20) Samuel goes on to tell them what kind of king they will have, all the things he will demand from them; with their continued insistence, “We want a king.”

    (20) “that we also may be like all the nations, and that our king may judge us and go out before us and fight our battles”……no matter how much he dominates us.

    As we read on through chapters 9, 10 and 11 we see where in 9:15 God lets Samuel know Saul is coming and he is the one to anoint. Even in His disappointment at them rejecting Him, He still provides a mixture of deliverance and judgment. In 10:18-19 Samuel again tells them in anointing a king over them they ‘have rejected your God who Himself saved you from all your calamities and distresses…” And He gave them a king ‘head and shoulders’ above the rest’ with ‘none like him among all the people’ vs 23-24. And yet, God in His mercy still uses Saul for many a deliverance and victory for the children of Israel.

    I Sam. 12:1-25

    (6-11) Samuel points out GOD delivered them, chastened them, and delivered them again. HE WAS ABLE TO HANDLE IT (still is, I might add)

    (12) you said, “no, but a king shall reign over us though Jehovah was your King. (13) so, God gave him to you.

    (14) In His mercy, He’ll still bless them and their king if they will walk in His ways. This is why He blesses a church that has settled for a “good king” (leader, pastor) other than Him & accepted the system of the hierarchy of this world, when they will “allow” Him move in their services. Even though it is not what He intends for His children. It is still GREAT WICKEDNESS in His sight as we’ll see as we continue.

    (17) “…you will know and see that your wickedness which you have done in the sight of Jehovah by asking for a king for yourselves is great…”

    (20) Here comes His mercy again! “Do not be afraid. You have done all this evil, yet do not turn away from following Jehovah, but serve the Lord with all your heart…

    (21) …For because of His great name Jehovah will not forsake His people, for Jehovah has been pleased to make you a people for Himself.”

    So we have the story and understanding of what is in man’s heart, then and now. It is to have a visible king, one to fight battles for the people, to be responsible for the “final say”. Some still have a hard time believing God can accomplish this. As I read on through the Kings and Chronicles I found “good kings” and “bad kings”, but only two kings who made God jump up & down with delight.

    The bad kings we know sent the children of Israel & Judah after other gods, building altars to them; and altars in “other” places (high places) for those who wanted to continue to serve God but in their own place at their own convenience.

    The good kings recognized the wickedness of other gods and went about to destroy their temples and idols. But, what caught my eye every time is they “did not remove the high places.” Over and over this pierced my own heart. I saw it again when I began to read in Judges how the children of Israel didn’t utterly destroy many of the Canaanite nations as God instructed them, but kept them as “forced labor” to produce for them. Most of us have been or had “good kings”, seeing the mixture of flesh and Spirit in the house of the Lord. We spoke out against these things, tearing down the idols in the house of God, but we allowed the “high places” to remain; the hierarchy, the “kings to fight the battles”. High places…platforms to elevate men and women; pulpits for those with “pulpit ministry”; titles equivalent to “Rabbi and Father” i.e. “Pastor” or “Bishop”, the list goes on and on. We have built “free works”, “home churches”, call them what you will…tearing down those idolatrous altars…but keeping the “high places”.

    … ‘the one to be in charge, have the final say…’. Granted usually out of our own ignorance. And, as He promised, God still blessed.

    I Kings 15:9-14; II Kings 12:1-3; 14:1-4; 15:1-4, 33-35; 22:42

    But then we look at Hezekiah and Josiah. II Kings 18, 22 and 23. These two kings not only destroyed the houses of idols and false gods, they went on to tear down the high places. Hezekiah even had to break in pieces the bronze serpent Moses had lifted up in the wilderness at the direction of God because the children of Israel had burned incense to it. God help us to not stop and burn incense at anything He does in our midst.

    Note II Kings 23:22 There was “no Passover like this since the days of judges.” In other words, since the days before you had a king besides ME.

    The book of Judges ends with this verse, “In those days there was no king in Israel; each man did what was right in his own eyes.” I was taught to believe this was a BAD thing and not a good one and this is why we need a king, a pastor, over us. In reading all these accounts, I have come to the conclusion this is how God wanted it. Men & women, walking together with Him, seeking His counsel. When needed, He raised up a judge for specific instruction but that judge did not remain over them as “king”. I will cite one example. The setting is just after God has used Gideon to bring a mighty victory and deliverance to the children of Israel:

    Judges 8:22-27 (22) “And the men of Israel said to Gideon, Rule over us, you and your son and your grandson as well; for you have saved us from the hand of Midian. (23)But Gideon said to them, I will not rule over you, nor will my son rule over you. JEHOVAH WILL RULE OVER YOU. (24)And Gideon said to them, Let me make a request of you, that each of you give me an earring from his spoil…(25) And they said, We will willingly give it…(27)And Gideon made an ephod with it and placed it in his city, in Ophrah. And all Israel went as harlots to it there, and it became a snare to Gideon and his house.”

    Powerful verses. If we are honest, we understand the battle it is to not allow people make us their “king” when the Lord uses us in a special way for them. Whether teaching, healing, deliverance or just extending God’s love to the unlovely. It is in man to want to become the “good” ruler so the “flock can be protected.” Jesus said, “There is One good and that’s God.”

    The other pitfall, and Gideon did fall into it giving us an outstanding example, is having the strength to not become the ruler, but then taking that little part each one heard (“gold” earring) and build the idol out of that. I would caution all of us to beware of building something to gather unto besides the Lord Jesus Christ. Personality, revelation, movement… …BEWARE! The minute we have anything to gather unto besides Christ, no matter how good, pure, or holy it appears, we become harlots as we run to it. It has happened to me and I thank God for His chastening hand, purging and resistance to bring me back to Him. Jesus Christ is not a movement, He IS movement i.e. Life. We gather unto HIM.

    Lastly, the Lord directed me to Hebrews. It was here I read again about the priesthood of Melchisedec. It is here I began to understand our folly in some of the types and shadows we have built kingdoms on. The Levitical priesthood is NOT our pattern. Melchisedec is the priesthood God is raising up. God’s intent from the beginning was a kingdom of kings and priests under ONE high priest, Jesus Christ the Lord. Where I believe we make our mistakes in types and shadows is not following the sequences all the way through. The example I will use is of the veil between the holy place and holy of holies. When we use the tabernacle in the wilderness as our type, and stop there, we leave that veil in place and paint many wonderful, and erroneous, pictures from it. In reality, as time went on, that veil was TORN IN TWO at the crucifixion of Christ. So, now we have no separation between the holy place and holy of holies. The room is one. We separate it into “Pentecost and those of us who go beyond it”, when in reality the manifestations of the Spirit are not separated from the throne in the holy of holies. Now, as we have access to that throne, that altar, the mercy seat, the presence of God Almighty in coming through the Door, Jesus Christ, those manifestations become real and alive in us because we can gaze at the One on the throne and be changed into His glory as we look. We don’t need any other person, gift, or leader; no deeper teaching to “mature” us, unless that person, gift, leader or teacher is anointed and pointing us to the Head, Jesus. We need Him Who sets on the throne. As we drink of that River and eat of that Tree we are united together in manifestations no longer tainted with the fleshly thoughts and desires of carnal man. We are a royal priesthood, a kingdom of priests, without jealousy, striving, nor hidden motives. There is no idol that provokes to jealousy here. (ref. Ezk. 8:5) No one and nothing is lifted up to see but Him. No platform, no pulpit; no “calling”, no gift, no position; no one exalted except the Lord Jesus Christ. There is no “King of Kings” except Him.

    “BK” Zimmer

    May 21, 2001

  10. BK,

    Thanks for sharing this writing and revelation with us. Jesus Christ is our All in all, our sufficiency in all things. Paul tried to get the carnal church to see that all they needed was found in Jesus and wrote,

    “But I, brethren, could not address you as spiritual men, but as men of the flesh, as babes in Christ. I fed you with milk, not solid food; for you were not ready for it; and even yet you are not ready, for you are still of the flesh. For while there is jealousy and strife among you, are you not of the flesh, and behaving like ordinary men? For when one says, “I belong to Paul,” and another, “I belong to Apol’los,” are you not merely men? What then is Apol’los? What is Paul? Servants through whom you believed, as the Lord assigned to each. I planted, Apol’los watered, but God gave the growth. So neither he who plants nor he who waters is anything, but only God who gives the growth. (1 Corinthians 3:1-7 RSVA)

    So, he who plants and he who waters in NOTHING, but only GOD is anything. The servants in the household do not get the glory or the devotion, only the Head of the household is to be honored. And WE are His house.

    “Therefore let no man glory in men. For all things are yours; Whether Paul, or Apollos, or Cephas, or the world, or life, or death, or things present, or things to come; all are yours; And you are Christ’s; and Christ is God’s.” (1 Corinthians 3:21-23 KJ2000

    All things are ours IN Christ. He is the Head and we are His body, members one of another. EVERY member is needed in that body and each of us have equal access to Jesus who is the Head. Oh what a great heritage we have in Christ in His NEW and lasting covenant. It is so sad that Christians settle for crawling back under the broken covenant where men desired other men to rule over them and fight their spiritual battles for them.

    “Behold, the days are coming, says the LORD, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and the house of Judah, not like the covenant which I made with their fathers when I took them by the hand to bring them out of the land of Egypt, my covenant which they broke, though I was their husband, says the LORD. But this is the covenant which I will make with the house of Israel after those days, says the LORD: I will put my law within them, and I will write it upon their hearts; and I will be their God, and they shall be my people. And no longer shall each man teach his neighbor and each his brother, saying, ‘Know the LORD,’ for they shall all know me, from the least of them to the greatest, says the LORD; for I will forgive their iniquity, and I will remember their sin no more.” (Jeremiah 31:31-34 RSVA)

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Election Results? Who Do You Choose? « notesfromthebridge

Leave a Reply

