Skip to content

What A Day !

February 24, 2012

Greetings,

Oh wow, where do I start?  Yesterday at the dentists office while having my teeth cleaned I totally freaked out.  I started having a flashback of my father making me do unmentionable things to him at gun point and I just lost it.  I got loud and insisted that the dental hygienist leave the room.  It took about 5 minutes for me to calm down, but then I was able to pray and use some of the tapping techniques I have learned in EMDR.  I was definitely heading for a major meltdown, but my prayer and intervention helped defuse the situation.  When the episode passed I was able to explain what happened to my dentist, the hygienist, and the police officer that they had called.  They were all very understanding and I was able to complete my cleaning and exam without further incident.  They checked my information sheet and I had indeed listed PTSD as a potential problem.

I do not know exactly what triggered the episode, but having someone right in my face (like a hygienist with her hands in my mouth) has proven to be a problem in the past.  This came on without fair warning and it was like going from zero to one hundred in what seemed like an instant.  I know that I scared the dental staff and myself enough to warrant them calling for police assistance.  No one was harmed or threatened though and for that I am very glad.  My being able to recognize what was transpiring and then asking for the staff to leave the room was a very good thing.  The flashback was vivid, but it did not cause me to get totally lost in time.  In past episodes the memories would flood over me to the extent that I actually thought I was a child back in the 1960’s.  I say this to establish the fact that I am most certainly making progress in coping with my affliction.

Then right when I thought I was back to normal I had a flashback while driving home.  The memory was so powerful that I had to pull over to the side of the road and pray until the flashback subsided.  Having flashbacks while driving is very dangerous and quite unnerving, but I am happy to report that I slept last night without having any further difficulties.

In the past a day like yesterday would have meant an inpatient psychiatric hospitalization for sure.  However, it seems that now The Lord has equipped me to better manage such problems.  I would much rather not to have to deal with PTSD at all, but I still praise Him for the progress I am making in overcoming the terrors of my childhood.  As always, I appreciate those of you who are praying for me and my struggles.  I am so very blessed with such excellent friends only a call or chat away.

Love and…….

Kirk Out !

 

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. jessop permalink

    I am sorry, Chris, that was a nasty one. I have you in my prayers.

  2. And the light shines in darkness; and the darkness overcame it not.
    (John 1:5 KJ2000)

  3. Pam Smith permalink

    Wow Buddy. We have been praying and will continue to do so. It’s awesome to hear that you are far more able to cope and to pray through it and get on top much more quickly.

  4. Jill permalink

    That sounds like significant progress, Chris. Praying for the healing to continue. That must have been pretty scary for all involved, but praise God for a much better resolution than had been your experience in the past.

  5. Alan Rees permalink

    Praying for you!

Leave a Reply

