Skip to content

The Most Excellent Way

February 5, 2012

Greetings,

“Love is patient, love is kind.  It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It is not rude, it is not self seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.”  First Corinthians 13: 4-7

A simple short and sweet blog today.  I have been contemplating LOVE lately and I think that I have found a pretty good way of determining whether or not I am operating in love on most days.  I use this passage of scripture and I simply insert my name where love is found.

Like this:  Christopher is patient, Christopher is kind.  Christopher does not envy, Christopher does not boast, Christopher is not proud.  Christopher is not rude, Christopher is not self seeking,  Christopher is not easily angered, Christopher keeps no record of wrongs.  Christopher does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.  Christopher always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

 I often stop myself during the day and ask myself if I am operating out of love or some lessor motivation.  On good days I pass the test.  Other days I find myself lacking and use this passage to refocus on His will and His ways.

Of course I only apply this as led by The Holy Spirit.  If I just did it as some sort of method or program I would become very discouraged at the results and quite frankly would likely feel like giving up on love and myself.  However, if He is guiding my self examination it will always ultimately lead to building me up and furthering His plan for my life.

Anyway, that works well for me in my daily walk.  Perhaps it might work for you as well?

Love and ……

Kirk Out !

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Pam Smith permalink

    I like this. I use to do that for a long time but somehow I kinda fell out of the practice to evaluate myself with that standard. The tough part is that I desire that pretty much all the time, but there times circumstances happen that a the moment, I am not thinking about whether I am walking in love. And it never ceases to amaze me how damaging even on word, when spoken in anger or malice, not in love, can be. Just a single word can cause lasting damage. I think I need to step back into that practice. Thanks.

  2. Caleb Kirk permalink

    this is such a good way to reflect on yourself.

Leave a Reply

