Skip to content

Love Wins?

December 23, 2011

Greetings,

I sit here this morning with not a clue as to what to write, yet He still leads me to venture forth relying only on Him for inspiration.  It is an odd circumstance I find myself in, because normally He gives me advanced direction on what I will be sharing that day.  Today not so much.  So I guess I will just start to write and see what spills out.

Yesterday was an odd day for me,  filled with a broad range of emotions.  Many times that afternoon I felt like a giddy school boy tasting puppy love for the very first time.  The feelings of love overwhelmed me at times and I often had to stop and catch my very breath.  In those carefree moments I felt the Lord near to me encouraging me to press on into more of this precious love.  I think I was experiencing His love in a manner that I had not felt since I was a child.  All I know is that I liked it and I wanted more.

“And now these three remain:  faith, hope and love.  But the greatest of these is love.”  1 Corinthians 13:13….

Sometimes I think the Church has got it all wrong where it comes to what is really important.  Many say that The Great Commission and making disciples is the bottom line to what being a Christian is all about.  I used to think that way too, but now I realize that love just has to come first.  Because without it you really can’t ever begin to reach out to those who would be future disciples in the first place.  The real nitty gritty of getting down to the level of those hurting and lost the most takes an immense amount of love and self denial.  Jesus never called The Great Commission The Great Commission.  It was just a title that mere men added between the text and quite frankly it may have been just another way that satan used to get us focused on works instead of grace, love and relationship.  And NO I am not going all Rob Bell in my theology, but there is something to the whole concept of love winning.

So today I am happy to say that I am in love.  It is more than a feeling to me, it is  a reality and I want to walk in this love for the rest of my days.

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Remember, love is more than a feeling, brother. It’s more than the intoxicating newness. Love is a transitive verb that involves pain and sacrifice sometimes.
    But as for the feelings of love, it is one of the most wonderful feelings ever. It is better than any drug, and alcohol. It is the feeling that makes you smile when you wake up, and when you lie down. I’m happy for you to feel those things, brother!

  2. Kenny permalink

    Praying for you today Chris – I know as the holidays roll by they can at times be weighty.. But yes – love wins – IF – if we don’t give in to the “dark side”.. love’s nemesis is hate; hope’s is despair; faith’s is betrayal (?) not sure about the completeness of any of that – just some ideas that hit me.

    So let us fight the good fight and drive back that tries to invade our hearts and minds – where too often it can find agreement.. Let us take on love, hope, and faith – although it is illogical Capt’n and even absurd at times; this is the battle in which love wins!
    – Kenny

  3. I just finished writing on this on a FaceBook post:

    Jesus prayed, “Father, that they might be one, even as we are one…” We are so quick to find fault and divide over those things that have no eternal value, but these three things remain, faith, hope and love. Let us be centered on THESE things in Christ.

    Right on, my brothers,

    Michael

  4. Some further thoughts on your post…

    These Three Remain
    by Michael Clark

    This is a time of year (Christmas) where everything in the world tries to take our eyes off of the things that are eternal and get us to worship at the feet of all things material. Madison Avenue tries everything in its power to get us to lust after its advertised wares. I think that as I get older and it becomes more and more (often painfully) obvious that I am not going to live forever on this earth, the more my thought are being focused on those things eternal. The wisdom of my wife’s council, “The best things in life are not things” grows more real by the day.

    Paul wrote, “While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal” (2 Corinthians 4:18 KJ2000). How does a person “look” at things that are not seen? Our physical eyes must have light either coming from an object or being reflected from an object for us to see. These light sources are made of matter—they are material in nature and of this world and its universe. Yet, Paul councils us to look upon things that are not seen. One has to conclude that to see those thing that are not seen, he has to have spiritual eyes, the eyes of the Spirit or he will be forever blind. Jesus told those who knew all about God and what He required of man, the Pharisees, “Because you say you see, you are blind.”

    We depend entirely too much as Christians on seeing in the temporal world. Many of us even while claiming to be seeking “spiritual” things want to see a sign from heaven that God is among us. Remember, the scripture says, “These signs shall follow them you believe…” not the other way around. We depend too much only on our five senses to verify we are right with God and we depend too much on what “feels” good, our feelings to know if He is with us. As we grow in Christ, Father weens us off our dependence on all things seen and felt. He draws us up into the unseen world of the Spirit where Jesus dwelt on this earth. He saw what the Father was doing and did only that. He heard what the Father was saying and told us what it was. Those with Him saw and heard nothing when the Father spoke, though on one occasion, “some said it thundered.”

    In the days ahead we will find ourselves enclosed by unsurmountable problems unless we can see that God is in it all, working something far deeper than the loss of our momentary comfort. Faith sees those things that are not see as though they are. Faith sees the Eternal One standing in the midst of it all. Love is eternal and it hopes all things and believes all things. Hope makes not ashamed. Paul wrote to a persecuted church,

    “…but we glory in tribulations also: knowing that tribulation works patience; And patience, experience; and experience, hope: And hope makes not ashamed; because the love of God is shed abroad in our hearts by the Holy Spirit who is given unto us. For when we were yet without strength, in due time Christ died for the ungodly.” (Romans 5:3-6 KJ2000)

    Notice the progression of how we grow from the temporal or seen and felt, “tribulations,” to the eternal and not seen; patience, experience, hope being unashamed and finally the love of God is poured into our hearts.

    We read in the famous “love chapter,” chapter 13 of First Corinthians,

    Love never fails. Now if there are prophecies, they will be done away with. If there are tongues, they will cease. If there is knowledge, it will be done away with. For what we know is incomplete and what we prophesy is incomplete. But when what is complete comes, then what is incomplete will be done away with. When I was a child, I spoke like a child, thought like a child, and reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I gave up my childish ways. Now we see only a blurred reflection in a mirror, but then we will see face to face. Now what I know is incomplete, but then I will know fully, even as I have been fully known. Right now three things remain: faith, hope, and love. But the greatest of these is love. (1 Corinthians 13:8-13 ISV)

    When I was a young Christian, prophesy, tongues and Bible knowledge meant everything to me. But as I matured and went through some hard testing in my life, my focus went beyond these “childish ways.” God had to pry some of them out of my hands, but He was sufficient to the task. I had prayed, “Father, make me like you Son, that I would only say the things I hear you saying and only do the things I see you doing.” I had just enough time to say to myself upon praying this, “Boy THAT was a righteous prayer,” and He replied, “No, my son, that is only the starting point.” Funny how we can think that we are really getting somewhere in our spiritual journey with all our spiritual gifts and knowledge and be found by Him as one who has never left the batters’ box at home plate.

    These three remain, faith, hope and love, but the greatest of these is love. Spiritual gifts and knowledge make us proud because we think we have something that the “lesser brother” does not. We reason that WE have the right to rule and to “minister” because we are so gifted and know so much, but if we are not serving (the true meaning of the word translated ‘”minister) from a changed heart filled with God’s love, we are a clanging cymbal and it is all of no eternal significance, but rather we seek to draw attention to ourselves. Love edifies, it builds others up and it seeks the lowest place of true servant-hood as Jesus did with His disciples at the last supper. He was facing a time of terrible tribulation and knew what was coming, but it only worked patience, experience and hope in our Lord and He was abiding in the love of the Father for us. He knew no shame even after being stripped naked and hung on a Roman cross. THAT is being dead to self and alive to the Father, being filled with His love even for those who persecuted Him. This is the goal of the gospel, that we would abide in the Spirit of Christ on this earth as fellow sons of God, not being conformed to this world by all its pressures, but rather transformed by receiving the mind of Christ.

    Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus: Who, being in the form of God, thought it not a thing to be grasped to be equal with God: But made himself of no reputation, and took upon him the form of a servant, and was made in the likeness of men: And being found in fashion as a man, he humbled himself, and became obedient unto death, even the death of the cross. (Philippians 2:5-8 KJ2000)

Leave a Reply

