Skip to content

Captain’s Log Thanksgiving 2011

November 23, 2011

Greetings,

Here we are again at the time of year we are supposed to set aside to give thanks to The Lord for all the blessings He has bestowed upon us.  Those of you who know me or follow this blog regularly know that 2011 has been a very challenging year for me.  The first four months of this year PTSD and the related flashbacks due to childhood sexual abuse and rapes were literally kicking my ass almost daily.  After two hospitalizations and a suicide attempt in April, my wife and I separated for the first time in 30 years.  Then Jesus intervened in a miraculous way and the PTSD and flashbacks have been minimal and totally manageable since mid-April.  However, the fallout from 12 years of episodes, being suicidal, and numerous hospitalizations has been more than my marriage could endure.  Unless another miracle happens I will be divorced by early next year.

Believe it or not, even with the grief and great loss, I still find myself having a thankful heart.  In midst of my struggles Jesus has been showing me a very wide grace and deep love.  The fact is that every single area of my life is going extremely well, except my marriage.  I am quite well emotionally, mentally and physically for the first time in many years.  My relationship with my children has never been better and I have rediscovered old friends and forged great new relationships.  The house churches I relate to are thriving and I feel closer to Jesus than I ever have in my life.  I feel great joy in Christ.   Dare I say….life is good?

So right now in closing  I share with you the words of Paul in 1 Thessalonians 5:16-28 ” Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

Do not put out the Spirit’s fire; do not treat prophecies with contempt.  Test everything.  Hold on to the good.  Avoid every kind of evil.

May God Himself, the God of peace, sanctify you through and through.  May your whole spirit, soul and body be kept blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.  The one who calls you is faithful and He will do it.

Brothers (and sisters) pray for us.  Greet all the brothers with a holy kiss.  I charge you before the Lord to have this letter read to all the brothers.  The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you.”

This is my prayer.  This is my life!

Love and…….

Kirk Out !

 

From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. "BK" Zimmer permalink

    Very blessed by this, Chris. Have an excellent Thanksgiving, brother. Love, “BK”

  2. Pam Smith permalink

    very blessed by this one Chris. Have a great Thanksgiving. You do have much to be Thankful for inspite of the marriage issue. God is good, and HIS mercies are new every morning. Where mercy is, grace follows, (and sometimes leads the way). hugs to you.

  3. Stay strong in Christ, my friend. God is always faithful!

  4. Hey devilblogger, I love the whole sheep in wolves clothing thing! Love, Chris

  5. Glad to hear you had a great day with your kids. Keep pressing onward.

  6. Caleb Kirk permalink

    his grace is new every morning…it’s merely about the effort we must put in and he’ll lead us, so we can see it.

  7. Caleb my son… Not so sure it is about effort, but rather cooperation and surrender. All in all it is about less of us and more of Him. Love, Dad

Leave a Reply

