Skip to content

What God Hates (“Easter” 2014)

April 19, 2014

Yes, the following is a reblog with some alterations.  I felt led to post it again here on “Easter” the day that most “Churches” have their highest attendance and greatest money collection of the year.  The religious system makes my stomach churn.  I just can’t hardly wait for true believers to WAKE UP and “Come Out From Her!”  I pray each day for people to escape Babylon with all it’s frills and trappings, and to instead find the simple way of Christ Jesus and the cross.

*******************************************************************

Greetings,

God said:

“I can’t stand your religious meetings. I’m fed up with your conferences and conventions. I want nothing to do with your religion projects, your pretentious slogans and goals. I’m sick of your fund-raising schemes, your public relations and image making. I have had all I can take of your noisy ego-music. When was the last time you sang to me?  Do you know what I want? I want justice—oceans of it. I want fairness—rivers of it. That’s what I want. That’s all I want.”
– Amos 5: 21-24 (MSG)

Further proof that true Worship is NOT a prayer, 3 songs, an offering and a sermon.  It is rather a life laid down!  The focus should be on Him and not us.  Too many “church” services are about how good the SHOW is.  Looking right and sounding right are not the same as being RIGHT with Him.

I find it very odd that most places of “worship” are decorated with pretty and fancy flowers this time of year.  What Jesus did for us was not pretty!  It was a bloodbath!  His flesh was literally torn from His body and He was beaten beyond recognition!  I am exceedingly grateful for what Jesus accomplished at the cross and I fully accept His glorious resurrection, but I will not whitewash the events and commemorate them in some sort of palatable fancy show filled with pretense, our Sunday best clothes and overflowing collection plates.

How we treat people, especially those who are in desperate need for justice and fairness is extremely important.  We should be instruments of His love, peace and justice at all times.  When we are all caught up in ourselves this rarely happens.  Some introspection is healthy, but too much is more than a problem.  We are to look out not only for our own interests, but also for the interests of others.  Wake up and look around, there are many people in need of His love, peace and justice within your reach.  What about the widow and the orphan?  What about your neighbors?  You don’t have to look far to find those who need His touch.

Most people are far too busy with GOING to “church” and “church” sponsored events.  Too busy in fact to actually BE the Church for those who need Him most.  To quote the late great Keith Green, “Going to church doesn’t make you a Christian any more than going to McDonald’s makes you a hamburger.”  How can we spend hours every week being entertained at the “church” building or at “church” events…while people all around us are literally dying, hurting and suffering?  It is time to break free from dead religion and “the Show” so that we can reach out and do actual ministry for the poor, poor in spirit and those with great need.

It does not matter how you meet or gather.  I have seen house churches just as self absorbed as those at a “church” building.  We all have to ask ourselves…What really is the motivation of my heart?  Is it to serve or to be served and entertained?  Jesus came to serve and we should follow His example daily.  I am tired of all the activities and shows that the “church” provides.  I want to be more like Jesus and less like me.  Today I will seek to meet the needs of others over and above myself.  I will still gather in simplicity with those who Love Him, but our gatherings will be about His will and not ours. Time to break free of “The Show”!

“I hate, I despise your religious feasts; I cannot stand your assemblies.”  Amos 5: 21 (NIV)

Love and…….

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Captain, I see we are tracking on the same train of thought. Thanks.

    • Skylla Moon permalink

      Its only by grace that we have been given light to see the truth and only by grace that we have the courage to walk in that truth. And if by grace we are able to continue to grow and mature and walk in the truth and be getting more and more light to see more and more of him.
      ..yes well that is all his doing. We die he lives in us.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

