Skip to content

Love NOT Position

April 13, 2014

Greetings,

“Therefore, although in Christ I could be bold and order you to do what you ought to do, yet I prefer to appeal to you on the basis of love. It is as none other than Paul—an old man and now also a prisoner of Christ Jesus—”

– Philemon 1:8-9 (NIV)
 
Paul could have used positional authority (he was an apostle, after all), instead he appealed to Philemon on the basis of love. Positional authority will produce results, but not changed attitudes. Wrestling with all of the dynamics that maintain a loving relationship is more challenging, but in the long run it produces results that go beyond the task at hand—it gives us a perspective that will guide us for the rest of our lives.
 
Positional authority in the church is never a good thing.  It divides and separates instead of drawing us together in HIM.  On several occasions Paul makes it clear that it was not a good thing to use positional authority.  Paul refused to take the right of pay from the church saying it would “discredit” The Gospel, even though he could have claimed that right as an apostle.
In other places he said not to take food because if you don’t work you shouldn’t eat and that he never ate any food he did not pay for.  Paul seemed to understand that he was PART of the Body of Christ, but not a HEAD or a Leader who had special rights or position that should be taken.
 
Paul made tents and paid his own way so that he could preach the Gospel without any strings attached.  I feel that this is quite admirable and an example we all should follow.  Technically, by the letter of the law, Paul could have demanded rights that his position called for.  Yet he did not, so that he could be a brother in good standing with all of Christ’s body and NOT a LEADER above everyone else.
 
Paul made this appeal on the basis of love and not position.  This is the example that I want to follow.  Even as a parent I would rather explain where I am coming from in love to my children.  Instead of making a demand due to my position as their father.  And when it is time to make decisions in the church I want to stand shoulder to shoulder with the rest of the body and share only my portion of the process, making not demands, but suggestions from my unique perspective.  Just as the rest of the body is free to do.
 
The thing I value most in life and in the church is relationship.  I feel that having some sort of positional authority takes away from relationship so I simply refuse to go there.  I always want my motivation to be LOVE and NOT position.  I do not want to leverage others because I have some sort of special role to play, because in fact we all in the Body of Christ are special.  So I will continue to make appeals and give suggestions, but I will not give edicts or demands.  That seems to be working well for me and all the relational housechurches I relate to, so I am not about to change now.
 
Love and ……
 
Kirk Out !

 

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Gen permalink

    Amen!!!!

  2. Words like “over,” “under,” “covering,” etc. all are positional and indicate superiority and clergy-laity division. Words like members, family, love, and the phrase, “one another,” indicate inclusiveness and not exclusiveness. God has included us all IN Christ as His family, not as so many auto-toms who are programed to respond to a man like a remote control robot. True leadership entreats others as equals in reverence to Christ and His bride but never commands and leads by force.

    • Amen to that Brother we are made by free choice Bond-servants are we not?

      • "BK" permalink

        I presume you mean bond servants to the Lord? “BK”

      • Yes BK that is correct, I love it when we communicate without condemnation and just accept each other, we thus at least to me can grow, hearing what each is saying to our best ability in trust to Father, and stay harmless, for love from Father does just go on forever with Mercy attached, and all praises continually where there is no room for evil
        Thanks

  3. "BK" permalink

    Amen. I love the verses that say His judgement is unto victory (yes!) and that judgement is mingled with mercy. May we always remember that. I, too, appreciate being able to dialogue and get some clarity without fear of offense. Have a blest night, brother. “BK”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

